We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite local sushi spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshiya Sushi Bar

Yoshiya Sushi Bar
9122 Rothbury Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20886
301-330-3352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 274 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our favorite local sushi spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really love the sushi at this restaurant along with the quiet atmosphere and attentive service. The variety of "platters" is excellent and everything we have tried here has been delicious. The only downside is the cost which is on the high side! But it's wonderful to have a good sushi spot so close to home!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is right around the corner from my house and I couldnt be happier about that!

There are not many good sushi places that I have found in Gaithersburg so this was a great find.

Me and my wife go here pretty frequently (twice a month) and it is consistently good every time. The specialty sushi offerings are very good and always beautifully displayed. The normal rolls are also very good.

We even ordered the fried rice once and although it is pretty expensive, it was extremely good! The best fried rice I have ever had.

The waitresses are always very nice and very attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for good sushi in Gburg.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Expeerience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I awaited the opening of this restaurant for some time and we were not disappointed! Located in a local shopping plaza, the restaurant interior is warm, beautiful and elegant for the area. A large private room is available for parties.

The sushi and other items on the menu are fresh and presented as a works of art. The menu offers an extensive selection of speciality rolls in addition to the sushi and sashimi. Tempura, hibachi, and teriyaki are among other style of Japanese cuisine offered. Staff are gracious and attentive.

We have dined here dozens of times, brought friends, ordered carry out and catering for a party. We were always very satisfied. The restaurant out competes all other local sushi restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had looked at this restaurant several times (in our local shopping center) and said "we have to try it" so one stormy Friday we did. It was quite enjoyable. The environment is very relaxed and the sushi is very good. We tried several thigs and the only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the shrimp tempura - but I don't often eat fried foods. My husband even had the tempura cheesecake and loved it.

Hopefully the place will last - it was a friday night and quite empty. Perhaps it was the wintry weather. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Back again, and still very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Since this restaurant is so close to where we live, my husband and I have been back several times since our first visit last month. We still love the fresh and vibrant flavors of the sushi and rolls, especially the specialty rolls. A large menu with lots to choose from, even for those who may not want sushi. I think the service has been a little inconsistent, but I know they are trying to hire staff, based on the help wanted sign in the window. We'll continue to go when we're in the mood for a quiet and relaxing atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshiya Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Yoshiya Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshiya Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.