We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we lived closer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
701 Russell Ave - Inside Lakeforest Mall, Ste E149, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
+1 240-632-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 270 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Gaithersburg three nights and didn't visit The Silver Diner until our last morning. I wish we had tried it sooner because we would have eaten more meals there. The food was very fresh, well-executed, and delicious. The service was friendly and efficient and the decor classic diner motif with tableside jukeboxes. Prices are reasonable and they offer gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian options. Their menu is very creative and they partner with local farms for their supply. Loved it and wish we had it in our hometown. It is a little tricky to find if you don't know its located in the Lakeforest Mall between Macy's and JCPenney.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't find the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

REALLY wanted to try this place from TA reviews, but even with GPS on and working- we couldn't find it. After getting back to the hotel and looking on the website, we found that it is located IN the mall between Penneys and Macy's. Hopefully this review will help other out-of-town ers find it. Sad we missed out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Silver Diner, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, but I am sorry that you weren't able to find us! We have made a note in our TripAdvisor profile that our location is inside the mall to help travelers better find us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Still Great After All These Years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family has been going to The Diner for almost 15 years. Some of us are thrilled with each menu change with the seasons, others still eating the best Chicken Fingers on the eastern seaboard. Where else can you find Wasabi Salmon Sliders next to Meatloaf? Their killer chocolate cake is THE birthday cake for my boys for over 12 years. Great staff, great food, and clean restrooms.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great new healthy foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The diner has revamped their menu to now offer healthy food options with calories listed. It's a great place to get both a high calorie awesome milkshake to a low fat, low carb dish. Great for all diets.

They are also doing fresh prepared local ingredients at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Diner Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner and we enjoyed the food so much, we decided to order breakfast the next morning for pickup. Everything you expect in a diner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.