We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to DC metro, nice rooms and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great access to DC metro, nice rooms and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

stayed at this hotel 8 times for two week stretches in 2006 and 2007 always offered a great room. Close access to the DC metro system and bus routes.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
64
21
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. We got a two room suite with a sleeper sofa for the same amount as two cheap hotel rooms somewhere else. We had extended family with us and this worked out great! Grandma and grandpa had their own room with a door. The kids piled on the sleeper sofa and Mom and Dad got the other room. There was a small, but full kitchen complete with dishes and a tiny dishwasher. There is a grocery store within walking distance.

The beds were comfortable and clean. The best sleep we got on our two week trip was here!

In the morning there was a great continental breakfast. Real dishes, well run, good food. One night we got back early enough for the manager's reception. It was very good, and there was enough food that we ended up not going out to get dinner.

The pool was also nice and there was a fitness room. The entire hotel is VERY clean and well run. The afternoon/evening desk workers were very good.

The metro shuttle was convenient. The drivers are very nice. It runs every half hour. They even waited for us for a few minutes one morning. We were able to use the shuttle to come back to the hotel the day we checked out.

Three small inconveniences. They were overbooked and we couldn't stay as long as we would have liked. We would have loved to stay there longer. Book early.

One night clerk was unhelpful when we called later about something we had left in the bedside table. Told us to call back in the morning, and offered no help.

The metro ride into DC is 40 minutes. But the hotel was so great I will do it if we go back.

Overall a great experience. I will absolutely stay here. We switched hotels after this and got two hotel rooms for slightly more money. It was definitely a step down. If you can get a suite here rather than two rooms somewhere else, I would definitely do it. You feel so pampered and taken care of.

HMMM. On second thought, maybe I should keep this to myself. But I know it will be awhile before we get back to DC, so someone else should get to stay here in the meantime.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We booked this hotel since it was inexpensive as we stayed for 8 days. I really expected a lot more coming from a Hyatt. Initially was going to book the Embasssy Suites-Friendship Heights. Boy - do I regret it. I was disappointed with the LOCATION of this hotel; about a 30-45 minute metro ride into DC from the Shady Grove Metro Station. Shuttle offers service to Shady Grove Metro Station but you have to reserve ahead of time and they don't shuttle on the weekends. Cab ride to/from hotel ranged from about $12-$15 one way. The complimentary breakfast and dinner was a nice touch to the hotel. The internet was wayyyyy too slow for my liking. The pool was nice and they had a lifeguard on site which was a plus for me. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was really great as we were a party of 5 (2 adults and 3 children ages 11-12); the space definitely came in handy. Have 2 active kids that took advantage of the basketball court which was also nice. On about the 5th night that we were there - I noticed my son had huge welts to his whole body and face (he sleeps with covers over his face). Come find out he got attacked by bed bugs and became allergic to the bites. I was disappointed that I couldn't even get a shuttle to the nearest CVS pharmacy which was about 1 or 2 miles down the road to find some kind of medication; I was given a cortizone cream from the front desk by an attendant. This was the best they could do. As I came home, I took him to his doctor who was practically mortified at what she saw and prescribed him topical ointments and antibiotics. This was the last straw. If you are visiting DC do not stay at this hotel - it's too far, there are bed bugs and in the end the bad experience out did the good experience I had in this hotel. There are much better hotels to stay in while visiting DC. I think if I go again - we're better off staying in DC and/or Alexandria, VA.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Just had a one-night stay here in one of the two-bedroom suites. It was roomy, the beds were quite comfortable. Each bedroom has its own bathroom , small closet area, desk and TV. the kitchen was well-stocked with cooking and eating utensils. the table was only large enough to accomodate 2, but they provided a good breakfast in the dining area. Nicxer pool and a combination tennis/basketball court. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was accomodating. the small shopping strip that is about a block away seems run-down for the general area, so dining needs to be a bit farther out. If yo do not do stairs, you might want to see if they have elevators, I do not think that the wing that we were on did. Upshot: average, but nice. fitness center open 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We booked a 2-bedroom suite for our D.C. trip. The hotel is sitted about 25-30 minutes drive away from D.C. The rooms are layed out very clean and comfortable. Suitable for a family stay. Hotel provides transportation to/from the Shady Crove metro station which is very convenient to go in/out of D.C.

One night we decided to walk home from the station back to the hotel. The walk is about 15 minutes along the roadside - just need to be very careful on 2 crossroads which leads to the highway entry and exit.

Hotel hot breakfast is not the best I had, but better than some continental breakfast in some 4-star hotels. Weekday evening social hour provide excellent wine and beer which is rather unique!

A good place to stay for D.C. area visit for sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburb, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. With two sons, 20 & 17 yrs. old, it was perfect. They each had their own bed in one room and we had a king in ours. Each room had a bathroom plus nice sized closets, and a TV. The small kitchen was great to put all our drinks and snacks in. With the living room, everyone had their own space. It was very clean and quiet. The staff was very nice. Every morning and evening was free food. There is a laundry and a good sized exercise room. The Metro was only a few stoplights down the main road, the hotel has a van to take you if you don't want to take your own car. It cost a little more than we wanted to spend, $204 a night plus taxes, but it was worth it. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

This place is great-- the staff is excellent, the room is comfortable, the included breakfast gives plenty of choice, and the afternoon happy hour is wonderful. You could even eat dinner at the happy hour and it's free! The small kitchen is perfect for business travel. I stay here a few days a month. The location is extremely central--it's easy to get to all the tech companies in Gaithersburg, Bethesda, and DC. The exercise room is larger than most, with more machines. Excellent value for the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.