We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hyatt House is several houses. Buildings A, B, C ,D- you get the idea. We stayed in Building D which is close to the tennis court and pool. Unfortunately we were only there for one night so we didn't get to try those out. The exterior of Building D is not awe inspiring as several spots have broken off sections of wood and it needs a paint job BUT our room looked great. It was comfortable, didn't have any weird smells etc. Everything inside our room was in tiptop shape, all the appliances worked, all the utensils that were supposed to be in the room actually were! My techie/nerdy side was very pleased with all of the outlets in the room and the wifi was strong and consistent. The saddest thing for me was the H-Bar was out of cupcakes when I really wanted a cupcake. Personally I feel like no good place should ever run out of cupcakes but that's just me :-D

**Warning- if you like the higher floor there are no elevators. I always choose the highest floor in a Hyatt House because the hotel tends to appeal to families which sometimes means little kids which equals stomping across my head if my room is beneath them. Granted the highest floor is the third floor but if you are staying a while or have heavy luggage I think you should at least be aware!

Room Tip: Remember, no elevators so if you have trouble with stairs or heavy luggage, ask for a first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi, I appreciate you taking the time to put your comments in writing. It will assist us as we analyze and prioritize ways to improve our hotel. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    55
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
72
25
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family were looking for a hotel to stay in the area. It was nice to be able to cook dinner in our room, have access to a pool, and sport court. The morning breakfast was an added plus to this stay. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hyatt House Gaithersburg. I am glad our hotel met your needs. I look forward to seeing you again and thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had 2 couples, one of which had a small child, plus 1 other person. Stayed in the 2-bedroom suite, one couple in each bedroom and their small child, then the single person stayed on the pull-out couch. Splitting the cost, this is the best bargain going! Each bedroom had a king bed and a flat screen tv, and a really nice bathroom. Kitchen was fully equipped, and the living area had the big couch, a lounge chair, and an eating area. The only downside was that the person sleeping on the couch had to go through a bedroom to use the bathroom if getting up at night.

One problem with our room was that we had a hard time getting the temperature to stay constant. It seemed like the a/c would run for a while and get really cold, then the heat came on to warm it up again.

The rest of the place was great too. They have a nice outdoor area - a pool, firepit with lots of chairs around, and several tables and chairs with umbrellas, and even a pergola with a grille that you could use. Free hot breakfast every morning, with a cute girl cooking omelets to order if you want. Evenings (Mon-Thu) they had a complimentary hors d'oeuvres, but we were only there Friday thru Sunday. There's a laundry, an exercise room, a basketball court, and a business area too. From the looks and location of the place, my guess is that it's geared toward business travelers who are staying for the whole week. The grounds are very well-kept. The exteriors of the buildings could use some sprucing up - there was some wood rot going on, but not where it would bother anyone inside the rooms. Roof looks pretty new. If you're going to visit DC with another couple, this is the way to do it. There is a subway station just a mile or 2 away, and that'll take you right into DC.

Room Tip: If you can, get a layout of the place and you can see where the quietest rooms will be. I always tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Hyatt House Gaithersburg. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and amenties we have to offer. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My sisters and I came up for a shower and shared a suite, it worked out great with two great neices with us. Close to the pool, nice outdoor seating. Perfect for family stay. Kept up well, although housekeeping cart was outside our door most of the day (don't know why). Breakfast could have more fresh fruit verity. Grounds and buildings being. Kept up fairly well, obviously still being worked on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hyatt House Gaithersburg. Your comments will be utilized to improve our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for a summer internship.
Pluses: Breakfast is delicious, and they have made-to-order omelettes sometimes! The location was ideal - walkable to nice parks, quiet residential areas, grocery stores, and plenty of restaurants. There were also several great Asian markets nearby! There are local events and a farmer's market relatively close. This place is also close to public transport and major highways which make for a quick ride anywhere. They also had a van that lodgers could use! Rooms were very spacious and comfortable.
Minuses: Laundry would be unavailable/broken very often, and the price for laundry rose in the middle of the summer. My room mate and I found some strange looking mold/mildew on the shower curtains, but the staff didn't do anything about it until we pestered for a few weeks. Sometimes noise from neighbors or the unintentional noise from our place was a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi, I appreciate the posting of this review. I have addressed your concerns with the team. I am confident you will find a much different hotel than when you stayed with us last year. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I just checked into the Hyatt place at Gaithersburg, MD and I will be here for 2 weeks in this room. This is my first time experiencing a Hyatt when usually I am a Starwood member. I decided to try a different brand to experience it and my first impression has not been a good one. I am here for a teacher conference and the first thing that I see is the dust and crap on the couch, bed stains at bottom of the bed, mold in the shower, dirty draws, and dust on clothes rack. Did anyone even clean this room? I understand that they were sold out due to the 4th of July weekend but it seems as if nothing was cleaned. Attached are the pictures of this room that I am in. This is not the impression that Hyatt wants to have for a first time guest.

If this continues, I am definitely requesting to get out of this hotel and brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the unacceptable experience you have had with us. I know we spoke at length regarding your concerns and am glad we were able to address once we were made aware. I appreciate you staying with us and providing candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked a reservation with our baseball team via the website. About 30 minutes prior to my arrival, they messaged us that 3 of our rooms were no longer available. The front desk person stated that a large group came in and needed the rooms so they bumped us. Apparently when we book a reservation that is meaningless. I would never recommend this to any of my friends.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey F, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I apologize for not being able to accomodate you. It is not our normal practice. I hope in the future, you will change your mind and choose to stay with us when in Gaithersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.