We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel changed hands and is now a Hyatt House. The rooms are nicely remodeled, with good sized kitchens. The wireless was good and there were plenty of TV channels (but an outdated listing). breakfast was a bit better than most, they offered made to order eggs...but everything else was pretty typical. Service was always friendly, as well. The only downside is the location does not have any restaurants in walking distance. My room had a skylight over the bed, which was a bit odd, but I had to get up early every day, so it was not a big issue on this trip. I would stay here again--enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the skylight room on the second floor, unless you like to wake up very e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    62
    23
    11
    13
See reviews for
82
29
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great hotel for groups and families.

Pros:
Excellent service all around.
Easy check-in.
Rooms were clean, spacious and had everything you'd need for a stay.
Nice extras like fire pit, gathering area and basketball hoops.

Negatives:
Parking a bit tight, we had to park a ways away from our room.
Breakfast was way too crowded and not great.
If not in an end room, noisy folks clanking up stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, US
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall, this is a fine place to stay for a few nights for average biz travelers, Customer service is acceptable in terms of the staff friendliness and continental breakfast included, as well as the free wifi with decent internet speed.

The only thing I'd like to bring up is that there is no elevators to rooms upstairs. So if you're physically challenged to climb up and down stairs, then you'd ask for a room on the first floor.

The environment is also nice, more like a quiet condo community than a travel lodge. Also access to the shopping and dining areas is easy with highway 355 nearby.

Room Tip: Choose first floor rooms if it is difficult for you to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Recently stayed here for a night as we were in the area visiting family. Hotel has more of a "resort" feel - not what I was expecting for a small town in Maryland? All rooms were housed in different buildings and had outdoor stairways/exterior entrances to rooms. There were also sidewalks throughout the property connecting all of the buildings

PROS:
1. Free internet and breakfast
2. Lobby had bar and lounge (more for breakfast but was a sitting area) - we opted to go off property for a bar though.
3. Stayed in a 2-bedroom suite - was large and everyone had their own space. Room has 2 MBR's, each with own bath, kitchen and living area. One bedroom had a walk-in closet. Great for us - my husband and myself in one room, my parents in the other room and my brother on the pullout couch. For $199 per night, it beat getting 2 rooms at $169 per night.
4. Very clean rooms, and good size, but standard. No "wow" factor.

CONS:
1. There was a bit of wait at check-in, especially since there wasn't really anyone else checking in. Not sure what the wait was for? Also, check-in desk was nothing special.
2. While the layout (exterior stairs, entrances) was nice as it is spring, I don't think I would like it in the rain or in the winter.
3. Expensive pet policy - $75 per night if staying 1-4 nights to bring a dog. Left the dog at home as it's only $30 a night with the sitter.

Overall: Perfect for groups, business travelers, etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We generally like the Hyatt Houses. They are roomy and utilitarian, and so if you are looking for space over amenities, they are an ideal choice. At this particular Hyatt House, we must point out that the front desk staff were exceptional. Courteous, responsive, friendly. We felt immediately well-taken care of even though our room wasn't ready! The rooms themselves were quite basic. Kitchen set up was great. It would have all been wonderful except the exterior of the building itself has some rot issues, and the appearance of decay just denigrates the whole experience. We assume that the hotel is addressing this issue, so in the meantime, if you are in Gaithersburg, you should definitely consider staying here -- just try to ignore the exterior as you walk to your room!

Room Tip: If you seek quiet rooms, like us, you should ask for a room facing out -- away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed one night at this property a few days ago and I was blown away by the service and the hotel. The hotel must of just been renovated because the pictures on the website and on here are not up to date. The rooms look just like the photos here, but the lobby and breakfast area has been renovated and modernized. They even have a bar with some food available to order. The rooms are nice, modern, clean. The property is beautiful and clean. Anton, the assistant manager, was a pleasure to do business with. I am planning on returning in the future! This hotel is about a mile from the metro, taxi never cost more than $10 one way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived and when we walked in the young lady at the desk was helpful and friendly. ( Actually all the staff we have encountered has been friendly.) Check in was a breeze. We got to our room and were very impressed not only with the size of the suite but also the cleanliness. Just about everything you need is here in the room, Including a microwave, stove, full sized fridge and sink.

The complimentary breakfast is one of the better I've found, fills you up for a day of sight seeing in D.C. As previously mentioned it is MAYBE 5 minutes to Shady Grove Metro station which is well worth just driving over so you don't have to worry about when you'll be picked up or dropped off.

The heating/ cooling is a little weird, but then the weather this weekend has been as well with mid eighties one day and forties the next, so that can be overlooked. As someone said before, the pillows are a little too soft, could use to be replaced by something firmer.

But those are such minor things, and we will definitely stay here next time we are in town, no doubt about it. When we do, we will try to reserve the room we are in now so we know what we are getting !

We're leaving in the morning, and will be leaving happy customers. Well done folks !

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.