We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean, Friendly, Needs a Little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Southeast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean, Friendly, Needs a Little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great hotel for groups and families.

Pros:
Excellent service all around.
Easy check-in.
Rooms were clean, spacious and had everything you'd need for a stay.
Nice extras like fire pit, gathering area and basketball hoops.

Negatives:
Parking a bit tight, we had to park a ways away from our room.
Breakfast was way too crowded and not great.
If not in an end room, noisy folks clanking up stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
108
35
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey, US
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall, this is a fine place to stay for a few nights for average biz travelers, Customer service is acceptable in terms of the staff friendliness and continental breakfast included, as well as the free wifi with decent internet speed.

The only thing I'd like to bring up is that there is no elevators to rooms upstairs. So if you're physically challenged to climb up and down stairs, then you'd ask for a room on the first floor.

The environment is also nice, more like a quiet condo community than a travel lodge. Also access to the shopping and dining areas is easy with highway 355 nearby.

Room Tip: Choose first floor rooms if it is difficult for you to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Recently stayed here for a night as we were in the area visiting family. Hotel has more of a "resort" feel - not what I was expecting for a small town in Maryland? All rooms were housed in different buildings and had outdoor stairways/exterior entrances to rooms. There were also sidewalks throughout the property connecting all of the buildings

PROS:
1. Free internet and breakfast
2. Lobby had bar and lounge (more for breakfast but was a sitting area) - we opted to go off property for a bar though.
3. Stayed in a 2-bedroom suite - was large and everyone had their own space. Room has 2 MBR's, each with own bath, kitchen and living area. One bedroom had a walk-in closet. Great for us - my husband and myself in one room, my parents in the other room and my brother on the pullout couch. For $199 per night, it beat getting 2 rooms at $169 per night.
4. Very clean rooms, and good size, but standard. No "wow" factor.

CONS:
1. There was a bit of wait at check-in, especially since there wasn't really anyone else checking in. Not sure what the wait was for? Also, check-in desk was nothing special.
2. While the layout (exterior stairs, entrances) was nice as it is spring, I don't think I would like it in the rain or in the winter.
3. Expensive pet policy - $75 per night if staying 1-4 nights to bring a dog. Left the dog at home as it's only $30 a night with the sitter.

Overall: Perfect for groups, business travelers, etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We generally like the Hyatt Houses. They are roomy and utilitarian, and so if you are looking for space over amenities, they are an ideal choice. At this particular Hyatt House, we must point out that the front desk staff were exceptional. Courteous, responsive, friendly. We felt immediately well-taken care of even though our room wasn't ready! The rooms themselves were quite basic. Kitchen set up was great. It would have all been wonderful except the exterior of the building itself has some rot issues, and the appearance of decay just denigrates the whole experience. We assume that the hotel is addressing this issue, so in the meantime, if you are in Gaithersburg, you should definitely consider staying here -- just try to ignore the exterior as you walk to your room!

Room Tip: If you seek quiet rooms, like us, you should ask for a room facing out -- away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived and when we walked in the young lady at the desk was helpful and friendly. ( Actually all the staff we have encountered has been friendly.) Check in was a breeze. We got to our room and were very impressed not only with the size of the suite but also the cleanliness. Just about everything you need is here in the room, Including a microwave, stove, full sized fridge and sink.

The complimentary breakfast is one of the better I've found, fills you up for a day of sight seeing in D.C. As previously mentioned it is MAYBE 5 minutes to Shady Grove Metro station which is well worth just driving over so you don't have to worry about when you'll be picked up or dropped off.

The heating/ cooling is a little weird, but then the weather this weekend has been as well with mid eighties one day and forties the next, so that can be overlooked. As someone said before, the pillows are a little too soft, could use to be replaced by something firmer.

But those are such minor things, and we will definitely stay here next time we are in town, no doubt about it. When we do, we will try to reserve the room we are in now so we know what we are getting !

We're leaving in the morning, and will be leaving happy customers. Well done folks !

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I travel fairly frequently and honestly have never stayed at a place this great before. The room was spacious, comfortable, and exceptionally clean. I'm still amazed by all the amenities-- a full kitchen, wi fi, business center, a great hot breakfast, and a free shuttle service. The location is perfect for the Metro, convenient local stores/restaurants, and the actual location of the hotel is off of main roads and is hidden in a quiet neighborhood.

Nonetheless, THE most impressive part of this hotel is the customer service. I have never seen so many smiles nor heard staff members going out of their way to ensure the visit was unforgettable. We used the shuttle service without flaw many times throughout our visit; one time, though, there was some miscommunication about picking us up. Mistakes happen, and it wasn't t a big problem at all. (I know I have made mistakes at my job; also, I know it was not intentional, and this was a rare exception for this place.) We just thought the shuttle would come a bit later than expected. Nope, this place exceeds expectations; they told us to take a taxi, and they would pay for the bill. Another family was to be on our same shuttle and were a bit upset. Immediately, the staff not only paid for their taxi but offered free drinks at the bar saying, "We need to make this right for you and want to show our apologies for the inconvenience." I'm still speechless by the above and beyond service this place gives. I will never stay anywhere else when I am in this area. If only other service oriented industries took lessons from this amazing staff! Thank you for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Wanted to get away for the weekend went on groupon a found a great deal for the Hyatt House..I tell ya the place was wonderful..great complimentary breakfast good bedding comfortable size king bed..pillows a little to soft tho..but overall a great stay..well recommended...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjl092354, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here. We pride ourselves on excellence in product quality and service and I am glad that we were able to have you as our guest. Our doors are always open, so when travel next brings you to the Gaithersburg area, please allow us to be your host again.

Sincerely,
Michael J. Lavoie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
1.1 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.