We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the first stay at this hotel as well as the first for a stay at Hyatt House since they rebranded from Hyatt Summerfield Suites. I was traveling with friends and we had a 2 bedroom suite. Check in was quick and easy, and the room was spacious, clean and updated - just what I expect from a Hyatt property. Shady Grove metro station is nearby as well. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our team. I am so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Although I have only been here 1 month as General Manager I am excited to be working here at the Hyatt House in Gaithersburg. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Lavoie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
66
21
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here as we needed a suite and it was the cheapest. I thought some of the good reviews would make it a better experience than the last time we were there, but we were sadly mistaken.

The only good part of the stay was the room itself as it was recently redone and the beds were good. The pull out couch was actually comfortable which is not usually the case. It would be nice if the pull out bed had a blanket on it and not have to ask for it.

The construction was visible all over the hotel but it was not welcome when they started around 7am with the banging and drilling.

The breakfast was a big cluster and very disorganized. Most of the time the food and plates were out which was disappointing. There was an omelet bar but it was 45 minute wait for one which is something you cannot wait for.

The front desk staff was also not very good during our stay. The first time I called during the morning to get a blanket sent to our room, it took 30 rings before someone picked up. After requesting the blanket it never came and I had to call again that night. I also called to get lights that were out replaced in our room and that was never done after multiple calls.

I feel the rooms are nice and the property will get better with renovations but that will not help more customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We travel at least weekly for business, leisure, and sports tournaments. Never in my life have I encountered a situation like this. Our daughter's soccer team booked rooms through the Bethesda Tournament as they were required to do so to participate in the tournament. The rooms were booked within the hour the tournament booking opened, and there were still rooms remaining once we completed booking, so we know that the tournament was not oversold at that point. I called three days prior to our flight down to reconfirm the rooms and Marlene at the front desk went through every room with me and reconfirmed each. We had rented multiple 2 bedroom suites so that 2 players and 2 parents could share. Upon our arrival at the hotel, Damon at the front desk informed us that the hotel was significantly oversold and that instead of the 2 bedroom suites we had contracted, each of our 2 bedroom suites had been downgraded to a one bedroom suite. We went from having 7 two bedroom suites (14 beds) booked to having 7 one bedroom suites (7 beds). They did not offer to help us move, so we called other hotels on our own. Their solution was to put parents and kids together on a sofa bed. Despite having to wake up at 5:30am for the tournament, we were up and trying to resolve this problem until almost midnight. The hotel placed complete blame for the overselling on the Bethesda Convention Bureau, which apparently controls the rooms for the tournament. Some of us (those who could fit) are still here, and we have asked repeatedly to speak to a manager, but the desk workers say they do not know how to get in touch with the manager or that the manager will arrive later. Others from different teams are also at the front desk complaining and have noted that this has happened multiple times to multiple teams. We would like to speak to management but no one gives a response other than waiting for a manager. The hotel had other single suites but said they were reserved and refused to give us any more rooms. The difference in a one bedroom vs two bedroom suite is $20, but many on the team scrambled to find rooms at a different hotel and are now paying much more than that out of pocket. Shame on this hotel for running this scam. If anyone in management would ever give us the courtesy of a reply, we would like to discuss this further. A response that you would like us to come down another time is not sufficient as we are a flight away and in no case would we trust you again to stay here. Please respond today so that we can actually address this while we are here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is all-suites with more than ample room, free wi-fi, free breakfast, decent food at the bar, and the most friendly and helpful staff. My suite smelled a little musty (it was the on first floor in building F) but that should be easily correctable. Damon at the front desk (and he worked the bar too one evening) is very friendly and nice. I interacted with maybe a half a dozen employees at this property and they were all very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo, conditioner. If you're someone who is used to lotion in a hotel room, you will want to bring your own as there wasn't any. But the room has everything else you need. Plus they will stock your fridge if you ask them to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Budget hotel which offer essentially small apartments for the price of a room. Nicely kept grounds with a fire pit, basketball court and pool. Rooms have a living room with open kitchen and separate bedroom. Clean and contemporary. Staff is very nice and caring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked at this hotel because of the Hyatt name. The first disturbing sign was the rude front desk clerk. We had requested a room with a king bed and she assured us that's what we were getting. Other than that, she acted like she couldn't wait to get rid of us. That was fine- we couldn't wait to get away from her either. The directions she gave us to our room were curt and not the least bit helpful.

When we finally did find the room, we were horrified. A heavy musty odor greeted us the minute we opened the door. The bathroom was filthy and the bed was not the king size we were promised.

We called the front desk right away to request another room, but were told there were none available and she (the one who checked us in) said she couldn't help us because we had booked on Hotels.com.

There was no way we could have spent the night in such a place, so left. We called Hotels.com and were given a prompt refund, even though it was past the cancellation time.

Room Tip: Check the room before you sign on the dotted line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

How pleasant to come back to the same city as two years ago (with Kryon and the Lemurian Sisterhood event) and find this upgrade! Above and beyond the convenient location, there is the genuine hospitality of the staff (shout out to Damien and Phillip) for making us feel taken care of; the check in and out process, the restaurant - all of it. The 'new' rooms are suites with full kitchens, and all the amenities. I knew I was in a heavenly shower when there was a little shelf for my foot to rest on while shaving! Lots of water pressure, comfy beds and pillows, great (clean) carpet, big closet, quiet AC. The restaurant was also 'above and beyond' with a chef that was willing to create substitutions for our groups' varying gastronomic needs. Decent wines with more-than-generous pours made us happy. The chocolate lava cake wasn't as fresh as others we've had, but all in all, a satisfying stay at a reasonable price. We'll be back!

Room Tip: This is a 3 story property WITHOUT elevators; ask for a ground floor when you make your reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.