We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Makeover from the inside out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Makeover from the inside out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

How pleasant to come back to the same city as two years ago (with Kryon and the Lemurian Sisterhood event) and find this upgrade! Above and beyond the convenient location, there is the genuine hospitality of the staff (shout out to Damien and Phillip) for making us feel taken care of; the check in and out process, the restaurant - all of it. The 'new' rooms are suites with full kitchens, and all the amenities. I knew I was in a heavenly shower when there was a little shelf for my foot to rest on while shaving! Lots of water pressure, comfy beds and pillows, great (clean) carpet, big closet, quiet AC. The restaurant was also 'above and beyond' with a chef that was willing to create substitutions for our groups' varying gastronomic needs. Decent wines with more-than-generous pours made us happy. The chocolate lava cake wasn't as fresh as others we've had, but all in all, a satisfying stay at a reasonable price. We'll be back!

Room Tip: This is a 3 story property WITHOUT elevators; ask for a ground floor when you make your reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    22
    9
    13
See reviews for
75
27
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very inexpensive quality place to stay in the DC area. Can get down to DC in 20 minutes without traffic. Also very close to the Shady Grove metro station. Rooms are nice, clean, and very large. King size bed was very comfortable. Only disappointments were that I could not get wifi on my iPod touch, and the breakfast could be better. The person at the front desk told me she also has problems getting wifi with Apple products. This needs to be corrected. The breakfast was the usual powdered scrambled eggs and sausage. No potatoes. No waffle maker. But certainly better than nothing. There was a beautiful courtyard and pool area. I have stayed here before and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's wedding in the nearby Germantown area. We had a two bedroom/2 bathroom suite with full kitchen. We did the all the flowers for the wedding in the kitchen dining area and the staff cleaned the room spotless when we returned. The breakfast was ok. Service was great. They even let us check in early which was really helpful. We used the AARP rate for a weekend and got a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The reason I rated the long term stay hotel 5 stars is entirely due to the excellent service I have received while staying here. Phil the gentleman who typically works at the bar has been one of the most amazing provider and accommodater. Blessing and Ursala have been great as well! There are definitely some problems with this hotel. There is black mold everywhere! My room often smells moldy when I come in after work for the day. I've been combating a respiratory infection for a week now and I'm not convinced this mold may be some of the reason why. There is also a major issue with one of the staff of the hotel. Neha has been the MOST UNHELPFUL person I've ever experienced in the hotel industry... and I've been traveling awhile. Please just walk away if you need help and wait to for someone else to be working. I've seen her service make people cry. I've had to wait for the shuttle which is not in use for at least an hour on multiple occasions. Overall it has been a great summer and Hyatt House and definitely helped provide this.... However, management really need to get some things straight starting with removing people to demonstrate bad service (Neha) and putting the people who do excellent work in a higher position (Phil, Blessing)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboise, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've been at Hyatt House in Gaithersburg twice so far this summer, for a week at a time, and I am truly impressed with the hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and it's awesome to have a kitchen (and there is a grocery store just across the street). The staff is awesome and very helpful, with everything. I highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am happy to see that you have made a second visit to our property this summer. This is one of the best compliments we can receive is to have repeat customers. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited here end of June 2013 for nine nights, we had seen some reports and questioned should we should we not because we saw basket ball court, never needed to worry, rule no noise after 10pm and it is enforced but we never saw the need, lots of students but they were polite and no bother.
Staff great, Sandra general manager could not do enough warm, friendly, every member of staff including the handy man, we have stayed in many hotels in the USA from Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton but this gives you more in lots of little ways.
Breakfast good, rooms excellent, cleanliness very good, some outside woodwork needs some attention but this does not distract from it being one of the nicest hotels.
Good outside pool with life guard and pool lifts for people with access problems. I have no hesitation in recommending staying here.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have problems with bags the staff will carry them for you but rooms on the outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I greatly appreciate your kind words about the hotel, staff and the amenities we offer. We were happy to have you with us for such a long stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been here several times over eight years, always with a good experience. The public areas were recently remodeled and well done. The rooms are very nice with a lot of comfortable touches. The free hot breakfast is above average. The layout of the buildings, with pool, play and sitting areas, beautiful trees and plantings, make it a pleasure to walk around the grounds. Most notable is the staff. They obviously love their jobs and love the clientele, they are personally interested in you and your situation and what you need. After a ten day stay I had checked out and was sitting in the lobby finalizing some work on my laptop. The young lady at the desk came over and asked if she could bring me a cup of tea or coffee. How nice is that?

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate your loyalty and repeat business over the years. I am please that you like the renovations to the lobby and the guest rooms, it is nice to see feedback on this already. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.