We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to vacation with a family!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Spring Hill, KS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best way to vacation with a family!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

After staying here, we will never get a regular hotel room again! We "splurged" for our family of five for Spring Break of sightseeing in Washington, DC and stayed in a two bedroom trio suite. There was a comfy king bed in our room and bathroom with a shower, two double beds in the other bedroom with a bathroom with a tub, and our youngest slept on a queen-sized pullout sofa bed. The curtains truly blocked all the light; it was very tempting to sleep in every day. The suite has a full kitchen with a stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher, full-size fridge and pretty well stocked supply of pots and pans and dishes.

The area seemed very safe. We experienced very friendly service and thorough and prompt housekeeping when requested. We did have one incident with a staff member in which a brief argument ensued over our missing the shuttle, but we didn't have any issues the rest of the time.

I can offer some tips for guests to this facility:

- there was no cookie sheet, ice trays, or large coffee cups and you will have to provide all food (even ketchup, etc.). We even brought our own espresso machine to avoid the costly coffee shops every day.

- the hotel offers a grocery shopping service which we did not use since the store is about a block away. This service is probably very useful if you have fewer groceries to buy (remember, we were feeding five for a week!)

- talk to Phil at the front desk as soon as he is on duty. He sat me down with our planner and scheduled times for the hotel shuttle to the metro stop. Take ALL of his advice. He knows what he's talking about!

- Shady Grove metro stop is about a mile away, and is the last stop on the red line, about 40 minutes to the sights in DC. Research off-peak metro times and plan ahead to save money. Go ahead and buy the 7-day pass if you're there that long.

- DO schedule your hotel shuttle times; it does fill up and you will find yourself waiting an hour or so for the shuttle to return from its scheduled stops. And it will probably be cold and rainy that day. Guess on the time if you have to and program the hotel's number in your phone to update as necessary.

- The hotel's washer and dryer are coin-operated, so either budget the time and a few bucks for that or skip it.

- DO take advantage of the free hot breakfast. It's actually really good!!

- There are NO ELEVATORS, which we knew ahead of time. Based on reviews, we asked for a third floor room (the top floor), and the stairs were a small price to pay for the privacy and quiet nights. We had a room that faced the basketball court and pool area, but the pool was closed for the season and the cold temps kept activity to a minimum (I'm sure it's somewhat noisy in summer).

There were some pretty extensive renovations going on that week, and it looks like the new restaurant/bar area will be amazing! While we were there those amenities were not available, but we hope someday to return and check it out.

We were extremely pleased and will recommend this place to everyone we know who is traveling to the area.

Room Tip: A higher floor means less foot traffic and less noise, but remember...NO ELEVATOR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Rest assured, we will make your next stay just as memorable.


Warm Regards,

Sandra Stulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I guess I expected a little more out of Hyatt. The layout of the property is a great idea, but I felt they fell a little short on details. Our 2 bedroom suite was adequate, but not anything exceptional. One bathroom's toilet ran all night. The deadbolt on the main door did not work. The exterior of the property was fairly shabby in some spots. The noise from the basketball court would be an issue at night. We only had the noise in the daytime. The check-in staff was very helpful and friendly, however when we called the "house host" to request a shower cap and full-size coffee maker we were told it would be best if we came and got the items. I didn't mind, but not what I expected to hear from a Hyatt property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlgolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that your stay was just "An OK Experience", Hyatt house Gaithersburg strive to meet each and one of our guest's statisfactory standards. Unfortunately, we are not a full service hotel so we do not provide room service. However, one of the Guest Service Agent will be more than happy to assit with your needs at any hours for your convenience. Thank you for choosing HYATT house and we hope you will give us another chance on your next trip.


Warm Regards,

Sandra Stulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been coming here for over 7 years and this hotel has reached a great new level of service. The staff especially (Phil ) are great. The rooms are recently renovated and it conveniently located to the metro and surrounding cities so for seeing the sites it is a great choice. They are renovating the main eating area and it looks to be another great improvement. When you stay there make sure you ask for Phil, he will make sure to help make your stay enjoyable. Whatever you wanted to do, eat, or see he can help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review! I am glad you and the staff got along during your time here. I love hearing stories from guests when associates go above and beyond to meet and exceed your expectations as a traveler. There are many options for hotels and Hyatt house gaithersburg truly appreciate your loyaty. See you on your next trip!

Many thanks,

Sandra Stulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindman ky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great place to stay. The rooms have all benn renovated and the service is great. Phil is the man. He simply does a great job and the Hyatt should be grateful they have him. Our compnay stays here primarily because of our relationship with him.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I will happily share this with Phil and I appreciate you and your companies patronage of the hotel. Thank you for such a wonderful review and such amazing comments for Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great property in suburban/metro DC.

This is an exterior entry property, so if that is something that you don't care for - don't stay here.

I don't mind exterior entry hotels, especially for really short stays. (1-2 nights)

The rooms are fantastic, updated, clean, well maintained and very modern.

A two room suite is fantastic for a stay where one person gets to sleep in...but the other has to get up and head out to work. That was the situation - my wife and I were in. She slept in, I got ready and headed out to work.

The property is well landscaped, and beautifully maintained.

The breakfast area is a little cramped - not the best set up, but it works. Also there aren't a lot of tables - so when the property is booked at or near capacity, I bet it is crazy in that area in the morning!

I would definitely stay here again, it is a very nice property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the room were up to your statisfactory. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Many thanks,
Sandra Stulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked several Project Teams with the Hyatt House Gaithersburg from August 19 - November 9, 2012. Paula my sales contact was awesome and was very personable. She was every quick to response to emails request when at times came daily marked urgent with additions or changes to reservations. I hope to work with Paula again very soon! She is an asset to the hotel and sales staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurExtendedStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and responsive. Checkin and checkout was a breeze. The rooms were very comfortable and plenty of room. Keep in mind it's more like a mini suite with a sleeping area separate from the living area. The mini kitchen had all one needed including microwave, refrigerator, small stove, sink, etc. There was the typical in room coffee available. The breakfast, which was included, was fine. Nothing fancy but it served its purpose and plenty of coffee as well. I certainly liked the free wifi included. Many other large chains can learn from this as this is one of the most important amenities for the business traveler. All in all it was a pleasant stay and would certainly recommend this hotel for any business traveler.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room. Since all the door are outside, including the steps, it's best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Best, Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you with a quick check-in/out and that you found the room to be comfortable. I am very happy to know that you will recommend us to fellow travelers. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing