We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My Wife and I stayed two days here to get away from kids and catch up. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the Torrefazione coffee rocked! Admittedly, the coffee is one of the things I love most about Hyatts. I am a coffee snob, true confession.

The only disappointment was the squishy mattress. We woke in pain each morning and felt 10 years older.

The location is very convenient to expressways, restaurants and grocery stores. I'm a local, but I'll bet this place is a gem for folks visiting DC that don't want to pay DC hotel prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review,

I am glad you enjoyed our coffee as I also can appreciate a good cup of coffee. We look forward to having you and your wife stay at the hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    55
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
73
26
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a 26 day stay at this Gaithersburg location, I must say it went very smooth. Upon checking in, we met one of the most personable people you could ever wish to meet, Phillip Kirton, an asset to Hyatt. The staff was always friendly, addressing us by our names, and always taking care of any of our needs, a high standard that we have found true of Hyatt Hotels in the past.
We had a two bedroom for a few days and then switched to a one bedroom when we had some guests leave. Both rooms were extremely clean and upgraded nicely. To name a few details in the room: granite counters, stainless appliances, full stove/oven, microwave, large showers with Moen shower heads, goose down cover with clean sheets, flat screen tv's in the living and bedroom, comfortable bed and pillows, plenty of room and very quiet.
The hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and a 5X a week social happy hour. There were a lot of choices to choose from everyday and again, when Phillip worked he was social with everyone and always asked if you needed anything so you didn't have to get up, this man went above and beyond what I would expect from staff.
The house keepers were great, even the maintenance man came immediately when we had a minor issue. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and trees, plenty of parking, gas grills for use anytime of the year with supplied grilling tools, nice in ground pool with hot tub and plenty of chairs.
We felt like our room was our apartment, I don't know of any other hotel that offers this much at a fair price with such high quality amenities and service. If we had to stay again, without a doubt we would; I have full faith in the Hyatt name thanks to the Gaithersburg Hyatt House.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21(one bedroom) and 23 (2 bedroom) which is in the main building, just up the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review,

I am glad that Phillip was able to meet and exceed your expectations, I will share your lovely comments with him. All of our guest rooms have been updated and I am glad you noticed the attention to detail in the new rooms. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I never expected to walk into a 3 room apartment when I walked into my suite. You walk into a living room with a small full kitchen off the side. We were on the corner so we had large windows on both sides. The separate bedroom had a large comfy king sized bed with double door closure. There was a vanity outside the bathroom with a marble sink and a walk in closet off that area. The bathroom had a shower (no tub! for those who area looking for a tub) and toilet. The room was extremely clean and large/cozy. It's a shame that I was only there for one night because I would have liked to stay longer. The breakfast was in the lobby which was a separate building, but a minute walk from where the room was located. They had a large variety of foods, and even though they said breakfast went until 10 we got there at 9:15 and they were extremely busy and running out of many of the items. They also didn't restock everything once they ran out of it. There was eggs, potatoes, sausage, and french toast when we got there. They had other things that were empty and never restocked. I also would have liked more than 2 towels in the room. That is a small amount for 2 people. Overall this place was fantastic and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you walked into a pleasant surprise upon arrival. Although you enjoyed the room I am sorry that breakfast items ran out and we were unable to refresh many of them in a timely manner for you. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay enough that we will see you again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a really great facility - clean, spacious, with all the amenities and it looks like a good community feeling (evening activities, tennis courts, and basketball). We had a two-room suite with a small kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the towels were the softest I've experienced in a hotel in a long time. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night so we didn't really get to experience all the amenities. The property was also very conveniently located for getting the metro into D.C. The only downside I saw was that the climb to the third floor was a bit strenuous for my father-in-law (and for anyone carrying a lot of luggage).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your past stay with us at the hotel. We are delighted that you even wanted to stay longer as we would've loved having you as well. I hope that you return in the future and hopefully put a face to a name.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an apartment at this hotel, complete with a bedroom, full kitchen with full size appliances, living room with pull out l-shaped couch, bathroom with large shower, 2 large flat screen tvs - 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the livingroom. Plush king size bed was very comfortable. Room was immaculate. We went into Washington DC 2 of the days. This hotel will drive you for free up to 5 miles. Therefore, our ride to the Metro and back was taken care of for us. Breakfast buffet was included. Hot dishes varied each day. Pool, and hot tub are opened until 9 PM. Monday thru THursday they provide a social hour from 5 to 7:00 consisting of drinks and food, also for free. Employees are extremely kind and helpful, especially Mary. I will definitely stay here again. Price was a bargain for what they provide.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators. Room was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am truly glad that you enjoyed the hotel and services, especially the staff that you interacted with. It is our goal to meet and exceed all of your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Hyatt House and it worked perfectly for us. We had a suite with two bedrooms-- one king, two double beds-- and two baths, as well as a combined living room/full kitchen. The living room had a pullout bed and there were three televisions in the suite. The suite was clean and well-maintained. Ours was on the second floor and there are no elevators. We had no problem with this but request a first floor room is you can't manage without an elevator. There is plenty of free, well-lit parking. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast or the cocktail hour, so I can't comment on those offerings. But we did use the shuttle service to the Metro-- we reserved space ahead of time and had no problem; the Metro is the best way to get around DC (parking is expensive in DC, driving can be challenging and the Metro is wonderful). The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The fitness center is adequate, the outdoor pool was clean, well-maintained and has a lifeguard, and there is a small basketball court outdoors as well. We had no problems with noise from other guests during our stay. For the price, you can't beat the quality and convenience for family travel to the DC area.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator to manage your bags, request a room on the first floor because there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us as we continue to strive to being the best. I am sorry your first floor request was not met but I can assure you that we do our very best to meet and exceed all guest expectations.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We rented their Trio room - 2 full bedrooms, 2 baths, a kitchen and living room, for 2 nights. It is very well kept inside, very quiet when we stayed, has plenty of free parking and a courteous staff. The complimentary breakfasts are merely adequate, not much selection and no cooking to order (e.g. omelets), waffles, or pancakes. For a large family, this property is the ticket, at moderate cost! Smaller rooms are available for couples or small families. Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are available summers as is a fitness center. The one downside - the price reflects the distance from downtown Washington - a good 45 minute ride by car, although the excellent subway (Metro) is nearby in Shady Grove, with a large parking garage available.

Room Tip: Have stayed here several times and never had a complaint about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hyatt house is currently looking to improving our breakfast selection with made to order omlete stations as well as more dinner options. These improvements will be coming soon but in the mean time I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.