We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a really great facility - clean, spacious, with all the amenities and it looks like a good community feeling (evening activities, tennis courts, and basketball). We had a two-room suite with a small kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the towels were the softest I've experienced in a hotel in a long time. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night so we didn't really get to experience all the amenities. The property was also very conveniently located for getting the metro into D.C. The only downside I saw was that the climb to the third floor was a bit strenuous for my father-in-law (and for anyone carrying a lot of luggage).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your past stay with us at the hotel. We are delighted that you even wanted to stay longer as we would've loved having you as well. I hope that you return in the future and hopefully put a face to a name.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
64
21
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an apartment at this hotel, complete with a bedroom, full kitchen with full size appliances, living room with pull out l-shaped couch, bathroom with large shower, 2 large flat screen tvs - 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the livingroom. Plush king size bed was very comfortable. Room was immaculate. We went into Washington DC 2 of the days. This hotel will drive you for free up to 5 miles. Therefore, our ride to the Metro and back was taken care of for us. Breakfast buffet was included. Hot dishes varied each day. Pool, and hot tub are opened until 9 PM. Monday thru THursday they provide a social hour from 5 to 7:00 consisting of drinks and food, also for free. Employees are extremely kind and helpful, especially Mary. I will definitely stay here again. Price was a bargain for what they provide.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators. Room was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am truly glad that you enjoyed the hotel and services, especially the staff that you interacted with. It is our goal to meet and exceed all of your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Hyatt House and it worked perfectly for us. We had a suite with two bedrooms-- one king, two double beds-- and two baths, as well as a combined living room/full kitchen. The living room had a pullout bed and there were three televisions in the suite. The suite was clean and well-maintained. Ours was on the second floor and there are no elevators. We had no problem with this but request a first floor room is you can't manage without an elevator. There is plenty of free, well-lit parking. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast or the cocktail hour, so I can't comment on those offerings. But we did use the shuttle service to the Metro-- we reserved space ahead of time and had no problem; the Metro is the best way to get around DC (parking is expensive in DC, driving can be challenging and the Metro is wonderful). The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The fitness center is adequate, the outdoor pool was clean, well-maintained and has a lifeguard, and there is a small basketball court outdoors as well. We had no problems with noise from other guests during our stay. For the price, you can't beat the quality and convenience for family travel to the DC area.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator to manage your bags, request a room on the first floor because there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us as we continue to strive to being the best. I am sorry your first floor request was not met but I can assure you that we do our very best to meet and exceed all guest expectations.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We rented their Trio room - 2 full bedrooms, 2 baths, a kitchen and living room, for 2 nights. It is very well kept inside, very quiet when we stayed, has plenty of free parking and a courteous staff. The complimentary breakfasts are merely adequate, not much selection and no cooking to order (e.g. omelets), waffles, or pancakes. For a large family, this property is the ticket, at moderate cost! Smaller rooms are available for couples or small families. Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are available summers as is a fitness center. The one downside - the price reflects the distance from downtown Washington - a good 45 minute ride by car, although the excellent subway (Metro) is nearby in Shady Grove, with a large parking garage available.

Room Tip: Have stayed here several times and never had a complaint about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hyatt house is currently looking to improving our breakfast selection with made to order omlete stations as well as more dinner options. These improvements will be coming soon but in the mean time I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I love this hotel! Try to stay here whenever I am in town. Rooms are great. There's a bedroom and separate living room and full kitchen. Free breakfast with a nice variety of food. Cocktail hour during the weeknights. Great location for getting on the highway to go all over the DC metroplex. Tons of parking (free). Staff is genuinely nice.

Room Tip: Rooms open up to the outside (no internal hallways). There are about 3 levels -- reachable by stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you love our hotel and look to stay here whenever you're in the area. We certainly do our very best to make sure that all guests leave with a similar feeling of yours.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Two weeks ago, my cousin had a somewhat routine surgery. In recovery, due to medical error, she stopped breathing. She was revived, and was in the process of recovery, but, I freaked out, and, "....had to see her." We began looking for hotels to stay at near her home in Damascus, Md. I checked tripadvisor, and saw this hotel with it's fabulous rating.
Thank goodness I did!
Everyone in our party was pleased. First of all, the hotel is located in the middle of a forest (at least it seams that way), so you feel very isolated. Next, the staff could not be more helpful. The room? Huge! We had a one bedroom with a sitting area and kitchen, plenty of space for me, my sister, cousin, niece, and their little dog to be totally comfortable; clean. Finally, an unexpected surprise, breakfast and dinner! Each morning, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, etc....not as fancy as Embassy Suites, but much better than the continental breakfast we were expecting. A full dinner was not provided, but one night we were offered delicious lettuce wraps and the other chicken sausages and wings. Free beer, wine, and soda was also provided.
The pool water is the perfect temp....a bit small.
And, all this for under $140 per night plus tax (about 15%). We did not tour DC, but, if we did, it is only 30 min in; actually, we would have drove to a Metro parking lot and took public trans into town, love their public trans.

Room Tip: When you call to reserve a room, ask about the breakfast and lunch. Also, hotel is a motel, with roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel from the suite to the breakfast. I wish you and your family the very best with you cousin following her surgery.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our company consistantly uses this hotel. Our employees ask for this hotel every week and are very disappointed when we cannot get a room there. The staff is fantastic and very accomodating. Our employees are away from home 4 days a week and the staff here makes them feel at home. They like the fact that they can bring food from home and cook it in their rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, both business and pleasure and will use it for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I am glad that you and your co-workers feel so strongly about staying with us when visiting the Gaithersburg area. It truly means a lot that you feel our staff makes you warm and welcome when staying at that the Hyatt house Gaithersburg. We are proud that we are able to be your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.