We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We rented their Trio room - 2 full bedrooms, 2 baths, a kitchen and living room, for 2 nights. It is very well kept inside, very quiet when we stayed, has plenty of free parking and a courteous staff. The complimentary breakfasts are merely adequate, not much selection and no cooking to order (e.g. omelets), waffles, or pancakes. For a large family, this property is the ticket, at moderate cost! Smaller rooms are available for couples or small families. Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are available summers as is a fitness center. The one downside - the price reflects the distance from downtown Washington - a good 45 minute ride by car, although the excellent subway (Metro) is nearby in Shady Grove, with a large parking garage available.

Room Tip: Have stayed here several times and never had a complaint about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hyatt house is currently looking to improving our breakfast selection with made to order omlete stations as well as more dinner options. These improvements will be coming soon but in the mean time I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
71
24
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I love this hotel! Try to stay here whenever I am in town. Rooms are great. There's a bedroom and separate living room and full kitchen. Free breakfast with a nice variety of food. Cocktail hour during the weeknights. Great location for getting on the highway to go all over the DC metroplex. Tons of parking (free). Staff is genuinely nice.

Room Tip: Rooms open up to the outside (no internal hallways). There are about 3 levels -- reachable by stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you love our hotel and look to stay here whenever you're in the area. We certainly do our very best to make sure that all guests leave with a similar feeling of yours.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Two weeks ago, my cousin had a somewhat routine surgery. In recovery, due to medical error, she stopped breathing. She was revived, and was in the process of recovery, but, I freaked out, and, "....had to see her." We began looking for hotels to stay at near her home in Damascus, Md. I checked tripadvisor, and saw this hotel with it's fabulous rating.
Thank goodness I did!
Everyone in our party was pleased. First of all, the hotel is located in the middle of a forest (at least it seams that way), so you feel very isolated. Next, the staff could not be more helpful. The room? Huge! We had a one bedroom with a sitting area and kitchen, plenty of space for me, my sister, cousin, niece, and their little dog to be totally comfortable; clean. Finally, an unexpected surprise, breakfast and dinner! Each morning, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, etc....not as fancy as Embassy Suites, but much better than the continental breakfast we were expecting. A full dinner was not provided, but one night we were offered delicious lettuce wraps and the other chicken sausages and wings. Free beer, wine, and soda was also provided.
The pool water is the perfect temp....a bit small.
And, all this for under $140 per night plus tax (about 15%). We did not tour DC, but, if we did, it is only 30 min in; actually, we would have drove to a Metro parking lot and took public trans into town, love their public trans.

Room Tip: When you call to reserve a room, ask about the breakfast and lunch. Also, hotel is a motel, with roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel from the suite to the breakfast. I wish you and your family the very best with you cousin following her surgery.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our company consistantly uses this hotel. Our employees ask for this hotel every week and are very disappointed when we cannot get a room there. The staff is fantastic and very accomodating. Our employees are away from home 4 days a week and the staff here makes them feel at home. They like the fact that they can bring food from home and cook it in their rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, both business and pleasure and will use it for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I am glad that you and your co-workers feel so strongly about staying with us when visiting the Gaithersburg area. It truly means a lot that you feel our staff makes you warm and welcome when staying at that the Hyatt house Gaithersburg. We are proud that we are able to be your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at Hyatt House for 5 nights for family trip. Four adults and 2 children. We reserved Trio suite with two bedrooms each with private bathroom. Living room with sofa bed.
Suite was very clean and well kept. Kitchen area had full sized frig and stove which was great for lunches.
Breakfast is great--several choices of hot foods.We found however that 8:00 am is not the best time to eat. Very crowded with people who were attending nearby conferences/training sessions.However if we waited until 8:45 everyone had cleared out and all hot foods had been replenished. What a treat!!! Many hotels do not keep replenishing hot food.
Pool and outside garden are were great!!! Pool was clean--plenty of chairs and open until 9:00pm with lifeguard on duty.
Close to 370/I270 but no traffic noises.We drove our own car so had no problems traveling to DC.
Excellent choice for long visit or overnight!!!!

Room Tip: We booked using senior discount so we had ground floor room. There are no elevators-think huge condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy themselves while staying at the hotel. It is certainly a plus that we have large suites available making it comfortable for families of all sizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We visit family in the area, so we have stayed here half a dozen times. It is clean, the staff is friendly, breakfast is hot and generous, and having a kitchenette makes it possible to warm a pizza for the kids. Very happy with the place. One scary incident points up the fact that some people use hotel/motels for partying and drinking... someone came pounding on our door late at night. But this is not commonplace. I returned to the hotel, even after we had that incident.

Room Tip: Really no service to comment on . You carry your own bags, and the maid only comes if you leave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Welcome back! I am glad you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the near future and if you have a chance it would be my pleasure to meet you.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are touring Washington, D.C. The hotel is at the end of the MetroRail red line (Shady Grove station) and if you don't mind the 30 to 40 minute ride to and from DC, this is the way to go. Every morning we enjoyed a nice, hot breakfast and then the hotel shuttle took us to the metrorail station. We spent the days sightseeing, taking in the museums, monuments, etc. and then caught the metrorail back to the Shady Grove station. After a long day of walking the sights, it was nice to relax on the rail ride back to the hotel. The shuttle picked us up and brought us back to the hotel. The 4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full kitchen, living room suite and loved every moment of it. We chose to eat-in 3 of our 5 dinners and the kitchen was perfectly stocked with most everything you need for a simple supper. We didn't use the pool ourselves but the people we saw using it seemed to be enjoying themselves. When we return to DC we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay here at the hotel while visitng the DC area. Our suites are great for families and being able to have a kitchen in all of our suites in certainly an added benefit. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.