We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Gaithersburg to your Saves list
HYATT house Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our company consistantly uses this hotel. Our employees ask for this hotel every week and are very disappointed when we cannot get a room there. The staff is fantastic and very accomodating. Our employees are away from home 4 days a week and the staff here makes them feel at home. They like the fact that they can bring food from home and cook it in their rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, both business and pleasure and will use it for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I am glad that you and your co-workers feel so strongly about staying with us when visiting the Gaithersburg area. It truly means a lot that you feel our staff makes you warm and welcome when staying at that the Hyatt house Gaithersburg. We are proud that we are able to be your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    55
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
73
26
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at Hyatt House for 5 nights for family trip. Four adults and 2 children. We reserved Trio suite with two bedrooms each with private bathroom. Living room with sofa bed.
Suite was very clean and well kept. Kitchen area had full sized frig and stove which was great for lunches.
Breakfast is great--several choices of hot foods.We found however that 8:00 am is not the best time to eat. Very crowded with people who were attending nearby conferences/training sessions.However if we waited until 8:45 everyone had cleared out and all hot foods had been replenished. What a treat!!! Many hotels do not keep replenishing hot food.
Pool and outside garden are were great!!! Pool was clean--plenty of chairs and open until 9:00pm with lifeguard on duty.
Close to 370/I270 but no traffic noises.We drove our own car so had no problems traveling to DC.
Excellent choice for long visit or overnight!!!!

Room Tip: We booked using senior discount so we had ground floor room. There are no elevators-think huge condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy themselves while staying at the hotel. It is certainly a plus that we have large suites available making it comfortable for families of all sizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We visit family in the area, so we have stayed here half a dozen times. It is clean, the staff is friendly, breakfast is hot and generous, and having a kitchenette makes it possible to warm a pizza for the kids. Very happy with the place. One scary incident points up the fact that some people use hotel/motels for partying and drinking... someone came pounding on our door late at night. But this is not commonplace. I returned to the hotel, even after we had that incident.

Room Tip: Really no service to comment on . You carry your own bags, and the maid only comes if you leave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Welcome back! I am glad you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the near future and if you have a chance it would be my pleasure to meet you.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are touring Washington, D.C. The hotel is at the end of the MetroRail red line (Shady Grove station) and if you don't mind the 30 to 40 minute ride to and from DC, this is the way to go. Every morning we enjoyed a nice, hot breakfast and then the hotel shuttle took us to the metrorail station. We spent the days sightseeing, taking in the museums, monuments, etc. and then caught the metrorail back to the Shady Grove station. After a long day of walking the sights, it was nice to relax on the rail ride back to the hotel. The shuttle picked us up and brought us back to the hotel. The 4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full kitchen, living room suite and loved every moment of it. We chose to eat-in 3 of our 5 dinners and the kitchen was perfectly stocked with most everything you need for a simple supper. We didn't use the pool ourselves but the people we saw using it seemed to be enjoying themselves. When we return to DC we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay here at the hotel while visitng the DC area. Our suites are great for families and being able to have a kitchen in all of our suites in certainly an added benefit. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great Family Hotel, with suites that sleep up to 8 people. We came with a girl scout troop, and had 8 people in a large trio suite - 2 bedrooms with doors, 1 living room & kitchen common area, 2 bathrooms, 2 double beds, one king, and one pullout couch. The girls loved it - the room was huge - they kept taking pictures of the room & the pool. There is a full kitchen with cups/plates/glasses, and a dining table with chairs. Best of all, it is just off a highway, and close to the Shady Grove metro stop, so getting to Washington DC is very easy. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, with eggs, bacon, sausage, english muffins, toast, juice, Starbucks coffee, and these incredible fresh-baked muffins. I plan to return with my family on vacation, it was that good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here to attend one of our relative's wedding in the area. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious rooms which include a full kitchen, a separate living room and a bedroom. The room was clean and quiet. The kitchen even had paper towels and dish washing soap. The staff were nice and accommodating. The breakfast that’s included with the room was good. The only negative was the size of the bathroom, however, it was enough. Also, there are three total floors to the hotel and there are no elevators, so just keep that in mind. The location is close to the highway and restaurants. Overall, a very pleasant experience and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of our guest amenities in the rooms. I wish your relatives well with their marriage and look forward to having you at the hotel in near future.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hyatt House Gaithersburg for the weekend. There were some good and bad of the stay.

Pros:
The rooms were recently redone and in good condition.
The beds were really comfortable.
The location was good. Close to the ICC, 370 and 270.
Had a first floor room, so we did not have to walk up stairs.

Cons:
*Parking was very limited near my room due to trucks parked across 3-5 spots and mobile
trailers. On Saturday night, had to park on the other side of property.
*Room walls were paper thin, could hear everything in the next room and the people walking by
outside.
*Even when we had our clean our room sign out, housekeeping did not clean the toom.
*Coming to breakfast at 9am each day found either the items were gone or cold. On Sunday went
to have toast and the bread was stale. Some people asked if they were going to be refilled and
were told that they were being cooked, but never saw them replaced.

It was an ok stay, not the greatest. Will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune_Johnson, General Manager at HYATT house Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your response, I would like to apologize that your stay was only "ok" as we certainly shoot for all of our guests to have great stays.

Typically we have sufficient parking especially on weekends but to my understanding the hotel was sold out during this particular weekend. It is also disappointing to hear that your breakfast was less than your expectations.

Your comments and feedback is important to us at the hotel so future guests don't have similar experiences. I ask that you give us another chance in the future as many of the issues you experienced are not common here at the hotel.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Gaithersburg

Address: 200 Skidmore Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Summerfield Suites Gaithersburg
Hyatt Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hyatt
Gaithersburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.