We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorating Seafood Restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
15700 Shady Grove Rd, Zip 20877, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-1401
301-840-0380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 292 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
“Deteriorating Seafood Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On Saturday, August 31, we went to the Red Lobster captioned above. My wife had the fish and chips and I had the Shrimp and Fish platter, Calamari and broccoli appetizer. The Fish and Chips were good. The rest of the food was very substandard, almost inedible and scarce. The lobster tank in the lobby of the restaurant had dead lobster in it on its back.


The Red Lobster Restaurant I am reviewing has been frequented by my family for the more than ten years. We have noticed that restaurant's quality has been patchy. I reported the same restaurant from a visit there in March.


The main theme is that the restaurant is in a steady decline. I don't know what kind of quality control you do across all your restaurants however if the quality of the restaurants in the chain are like the one in Gaithersburg then the prospects for Red Lobster are not encouraging.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montague
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved the sweet chili shrimp appetizer, but had to pay more than expected for a cup of soup and felt ripped off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good seafood at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went with friends to Red Lobster because we couldn't get reservations elsewhere. We were pleasantly surprised by the large portions of good food and the good service. The cheese biscuits were excellent and we got 2 baskets of them. My platter arrived with a good sized lobster tail, a skewer of shrimp plus shrimp scampi. I also got my choice of 2 side dishes. The lobster was good as I've tasted in far more expensive restaurants. The shrimp were good, also.
The only drawback was that we were seated in a very large room with noisy diners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just your average run of the mill Red Lobster. There's quite a wait to get seated and they left me there for quite a while before I got service. Started feeling like it had to do with my color. Didn't leave a tip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I liked the welcome you get when you walk in the door. Excellent friendly staff and great food, Good portions. Love Red :Lobster

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.