We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but some drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Canyon Grill

Copper Canyon Grill
100 Boardwalk Pl, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7342
240-631-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Copper Canyon Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 279 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Welcome to Copper Canyon Grill Restaurants where you’ll enjoy full flavored, fresh American cuisine served in a casual, energetic atmosphere.
Aurora, Ohio
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, but some drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Because we didn't know the area, we picked this restaurant off Google Maps and through tripadvisor ratings. We met some friends for dinner while on a trip.

The place was crowded on a Saturday night, so we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. We thought that was quick. It was raining, so the fire pit outside was a nice touch.

Our server was prompt and attentive. The food came in good timing. And, the food was amazing. I had the crab cakes and prime rib. We could not make up our minds so two of us split our dinners with each other.

So, here are the inconveniences: 1) Finding a parking space was near to impossible. The restaurant is located in an upscale shopping district with no parking of its own. 2) I have to agree about the high prices that others have mentioned. and 3) The acoustics are terrible for holding conversations within your own party. We found ourselves having to raise our voices and repeat things often. I cannot imagine what people with slight hearing loss would go through.

Overall, we had a good experience. However, if I lived close to the restaurant, I do not think it would be on my list of regular places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    73
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good experience, friendly staff:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Rio's Boardwalk offers a nice walk and evening/day fire-pit @CopperCanyon. Several times we have enjoyed a meal here, although it may be a little pricey, its filling and very good!!!! We also enjoy the lake, and walking around after a dinner/lunch.
Of course its not your average eat out once a week,, however, what we like is the rotisserie chicken, veges, bacon cheese burger & fries, and sometimes dessert!!! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We eat here every time we stay at the Washingtonian Center. The food is always fabulous, as well as the service. Atmosphere is very nice, the music is a little loud, hard to have a dinner conversation, but that is my only complaint. They have outside seating available along the water front and an outside fire pit which adds to the ambiance. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located in the Rio section of the Washington Rio Center in Gaithersburg. Prices are a bit high but the food is good. Wait times on weekends for dinner can be long (frustrating but a good indicator of its popularity).

Others have commented that it's too dark, but, that's part of its atmosphere...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A little expensive for lunch but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went into this place without looking at the menu and almost walked out when we did. The menu is somewhat limited in its selection and a bit pricey to boot. We settled on the Pot Pie ($15) and Salad with Chicken ($14) and both were really good, we would definitely go back. The restaurant has lots of outdoor seating that overlooks a small made lake, the path around the lake draws lots of foot traffic and makes for a good people watching experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Canyon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Copper Canyon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Canyon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.