We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is wonderful but very pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg

The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg
9021 Gaither Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-1424
301-519-3638
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 271 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shady Grove Rd
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The food is wonderful but very pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

i would visit here all the time if it was not so pricey. i was pleased from the time I ate my salad to the main course to the awesome dessert!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First timers enjoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been to The Melting Pot a couple times, but the first time experience is unforgettable just because they offer a quite unique service. It is great for romance night! they offer an exquisite menu pairing with wine. They prepare everything on your table, nothing is made in the kitchen. Everything is fresh! I recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First Timers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a new experience. Since the kids were out we decided to do something that everyone was telling us about. It was so amazing. I will definitely go back on a special occasion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has become a tradition in our house to go to The Melting Pot after school lets out. The service is always wonderful, and with a reservation we get seated right away. Our waiter was attentive and very friendly. The food was great, there was definitely something for all tastes. My son (age 10) is a very picky eater, but coming here allows him to dictate what he eats and he loves it. The chocolate is the best part! Love it here, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Consistent and tasty, but a bit expensive. For the fondue lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

So, if you "must" have fondue, this is a great place. The cheese is great. The food is fresh and the chocolate is excellent. The downsides: the service is SLOW ... near impossible to get out of there under 2 to 2.5 hours. The wait staff is great, but for some reason everything goes glacially. So not ideal with younger kids. And, it is pricey. Way too expensive. Food is fine but not so great to justify the dollars. But for the celebration, it is what it is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.