We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good first impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Indian Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Minerva Indian Cuisine
16240 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4001
(301) 948-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 270 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
North Potomac, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good first impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have lived in the area for a number of years but I have never eaten here. Had some overseas guests and I decided to try this restaurant. Went to the lunch buffet on Saturday and I was very impressed with the quality of the food. It was very delicious and the place was very clean though it was busy. Would definitely recommend this place. Value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Customer Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food was excellent, great variety of dishes including vegetarian, seafood, and chicken. My customer thought the food was very authentic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went there as it was just besides the hotel.

Lunch buffet is delicious, we stuffed ourselves in Indian food. Fresh, flavory, well cooked, the right taste for the right dish.

We went also at night, plates can be "A la carte" -just the dish-, or "Dinner plate" -a tray with the maini dish you asked, surrounded by anything else, including Dahi with mint, and dessert (today was rasmalai).

Fair price, great food. If you like Hindi food, that's the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a very good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friends had told us about this place so we decided to try it on a Friday night. It's fairly large as Indian restaurants go. Even at 7:30 most tables were taken. The food was very tasty with the spices being just right. The local India community must like this place because we saw three large parties of them---always a good sign.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I have always been happy with this place. We've been going since they opened up, and have never been disappointed. I'd recommend the lunch buffet, but get there by Noon because can be a wait, and they can run low on items. The tandoori chicken is espcially good, always tender and flavorful. Lots of items, and unique curries not found at other places. They keep the quality up, and the Mgr. Alex is pretty accomodating. Wait staff is just ok, but they do get busy, so somewhat understandable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minerva Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Minerva Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.