We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Indian Cuisine

Minerva Indian Cuisine
16240 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4001
(301) 948-9898
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 263 restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Customer Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food was excellent, great variety of dishes including vegetarian, seafood, and chicken. My customer thought the food was very authentic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    16
    15
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went there as it was just besides the hotel.

Lunch buffet is delicious, we stuffed ourselves in Indian food. Fresh, flavory, well cooked, the right taste for the right dish.

We went also at night, plates can be "A la carte" -just the dish-, or "Dinner plate" -a tray with the maini dish you asked, surrounded by anything else, including Dahi with mint, and dessert (today was rasmalai).

Fair price, great food. If you like Hindi food, that's the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's a very good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friends had told us about this place so we decided to try it on a Friday night. It's fairly large as Indian restaurants go. Even at 7:30 most tables were taken. The food was very tasty with the spices being just right. The local India community must like this place because we saw three large parties of them---always a good sign.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I have always been happy with this place. We've been going since they opened up, and have never been disappointed. I'd recommend the lunch buffet, but get there by Noon because can be a wait, and they can run low on items. The tandoori chicken is espcially good, always tender and flavorful. Lots of items, and unique curries not found at other places. They keep the quality up, and the Mgr. Alex is pretty accomodating. Wait staff is just ok, but they do get busy, so somewhat understandable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food Cooked and Served by A Bunch of Spanish Guys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place had been recommended several times by friends. My wife and finally decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. Food was good. Service was good (and friendly). The skewered lamb is particularly good! The Naan too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minerva Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Minerva Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.