We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast! :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast! :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights as we were visiting friends in Olney. It fit our needs very well, the room was comfortable, the pull out sofa was great. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was really good for a hotel breakfast. Close to freeway to get where you need to go. Wifi worked for the kids. :-) No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Peggy L, We are delighted to hear this wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us! We are very pleased that our hotel, and staff were able to meet your needs while you were staying in the Gaithersburg area. We look forward to being able to serve you again in the future, and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
14
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel was good for a group stay. It was small enough to be team friendly. The hotel has no beer or wine in the store so bring your own if you want a drink at night. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Great walking distance to the area of restaurants and shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Phishstx52! Thank you very much for taking the time out to write this wonderful review of our property! We take great pride in serving our guests and making their stay the best we can make it, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Here are the bullet points I noted during my stay:
- No safe in room, so keep that in mind if you bring a valuable device. Carry it with you!
- They do have toiletries if you forget toothpaste. (Happens to the best of us, right?)
- TV has lots of inputs in the back. So bring an HDMI cord if you want to see some pictures or videos you've shot while here on vacation.
- Good fitness center. Machines have built-in TVs, they offer cheap but individually wrapped ear buds, there's a water cooler, clean towels, and wet wipes to wipe down your machine. Choose between one elliptical, couple of treadmills, one bike, and comfortable feeling dumbbell weight sets. You can definitely get in a workout. Open 24/7.
- Pool and spa are only open 5 pm to 10 pm weekdays. What's up with that? Lose half a star not being open longer.
- Shower works fine. Bring your own supplies if you want more than the obligatory bar of soap that's barely larger than an SD card for a camera.
- Comfortable living area. Decent desk I'm using to type this, as well as a sofabed and chair. Cool thing is, the TV rotates, so you can watch it from your bed or your "living room."
- Breakfast was the standard fare. You can certainly get your fill of "carb bombs" vis-a-vis bagels, oatmeal, and the like. The scrambled eggs were fine, and the sausages were filling. That's what I was looking for get some fuel into me. Did the trick.
- Wifi was free and rock solid. No glitches there.
- All in all, not too bad at this $99 or so price point.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear HerrP, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this thoughtful comment about our property. We take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us in order for us to continue to deliver excellent service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was not the Marriott hot breakfast I am use to or expected. There was not a variety of food to choose from on the so called hot breakfast buffet. They need to a minimum invest in a waffle maker. We went down to the pool on Monday to only find out it is closed Mon-Wed. My child was very disappointed needless to say. There is a lot of great restaurants,shops, movies and family fun adventures within walking distance. The complimentary shuttle van will take you there. The front desk staff was awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Greetings Alisa757,

We appreciate your insightful comment. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant encounter with our staff and that you enjoyed the local area. We want to take this time to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding our breakfast offerings and pool hours, we sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working diligently to correct any discrepancies in our advertising and what is actually offered.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Washingtonian Center and all it has to offer to our guests. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us as we take customer service very seriously.

Thank you kindly for your review of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

All rooms feature a small "lounge" area with a couch, chair, desk, sink & fridge. The TV is viewable from both sides of the room (lounge area & bed area). The rooms were pretty clean but the free breakfast was a joke. Only plastic utensils, styrofoam plates, one hot dish, bread and yogurt. Usually the Marriott breakfast is much better so I was disappointed.
A positive was the location: right off the highway and within walking distance to an outdoor lifestyle mall with a variety of restaurants, lake, target, movie theatre, starbucks, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked our great location and the layout of our suites. We apologize that you were unhappy about our breakfast offerings and our set up. Frequently, when the hotel is busy with a lot of guests, it makes for much quicker service for our team to serve breakfast to many people if we modify the set up and use disposable utensils and dishes. It makes it easier for our team to move in and out around all of the guests and serve more people efficiently. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were visiting family in Rockville for one night. The front desk is very helpful and the quality and space of the rooms were great. Breakfast could have been slightly better, the scrambled eggs and turkey sausage were fair at best. However the overall quality of the stay was great. There is even a little lake area with restaurants within 5 minutes walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well located Marriott property in Gaithersburg. All the Springhill touches: free breakfast, pullout couch, small kitchen. Rooms are a little cramped, but they are fitting a lot in a small space. Clean rooms and bathroom and very comfortable latex foam mattresses. Breakfast was well below par, might as well skip it. Indoor pool, small exercise area.

Room Tip: away from elevator/ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Address: 9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.