We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Washingtonian Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Richmond
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right in Washingtonian Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes off the highway, but a perfect place for someone who wants to enjoy the restaurants/shopping/bars of the Washingtonian Center. Good breakfast & perfect for a one-night stay for work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Gaithersburg Springhill Suites. The Washingtonian Center is a great place for our guests everything that you could possiblely need or want in a localtion, movies, several restaurants, walking trail around the lake and even a play area for children.
We hope the next time you are in the area you will choose the Gaithersburg Springhill Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
14
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here on Business for pretty much a whole week. Upstairs, quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast - well stocked and kept tidy in spite of the multitude of obnoxious families (adults and children in pajamas) consuming everything in site. Clean grounds, quiet area, and convenient to restaurants and shopping. Stayed the next week as well. They take great care of you!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Block of rooms adjacent the Dining area! Upstairs away from the Elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
The staff at the Gaithersburg Springhill Suites enjoys taking care of our guests. The entire team takes pride in all aspects of the hotel, keeping the breakfast ample and fresh, the rooms clean and maintained. And of course the personal touch of genuinely caring for our guests. We hope you will return time and time again. Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Washington, DC. It was an easy thirty minute commute to downtown attractions. The hotel is convenient to an outdoor mall with restaurants and a Target. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. My family (seven including three grand-children) enjoyed the three night stay immensely.

Room Tip: First floor, end of hallway rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your response. The staff at the Gaithersburg Springhill Suites loves seeing families unite. We do have a great hotel for families who come to the area. The Washingtonian Center offers many things for all members to enjoy. We hope that the next time you and your family meet it will be at the Gaithersburg Springhill Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We like to stay in Marriott brand hotels when we travel because they are consistent no matter where we go and this was no exception. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was standard hotel fair. One day we ate at 8:00 and they could not handle the number of people wishing to eat at that time. Staff could not replenish things fast enough. Eating at 7:00 other days was fine. Only 3 miles from the red metro line and then a 30 minute ride into D.C. Many places to eat within a short drive, although not anything right by the hotel. Front desk staff was professional but not at all personable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We thought it would be easier to get into DC (fully expecting a 45 min metro ride) based on a phone conversation with the front desk, but it was not. However, if you have a car (we did) you can drive to the metro station. The bonus was the shopping area within walking distance to the hotel had many shops and restaurants of various prices and styles. If you want the pool, note that it is only open at night. The property shows its age but is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights whilst touring around. A good central location with easy access to all main arteries. Rooms were well kept and was quiet. Enjoyed the standard layout of buffet breakfast with all choices well stocked whenever time you came. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just wrapping up a 4 night stay from March 11-15th. It has been a pleasant time. Before I start, let me say that all hotels should provide free parking, coffee and toast, and some type of whirlpool, pool, or sauna. I never stay at places that don't offer these amenities. The welcome was great. When I asked for a more reasonable rate, because I was staying 4 nights, I got one. Was it the best rate? No. I feel that the $169 rate that I had to pay was ridiculously high for the 3 star quality of this hotel. I was told it had corporate rates since it was in a corporate area, and I was not staying on a weekend which would be cheaper. However, I decided to just look for something with a better rate the next time. The hotel is newer and well kept. Indoors and out was very clean and presentable. Room was a suite with 2 queen beds, Loveseat and chair, work desk, small kitchen area. Bathroom had toilet and tub/shower, sink was separate and outside from the shower. Not a lot of counter space on the sink, but it was okay. Beds were firm and pillowtop comfortable. The light in the tub area went out one morning and was changed by evening without me making a report about it(kudos to housekeeping for taking care of the problem.) The TV was flatscreen and had the usual cable channels. You could not see it from the sofa or chair. Had to lay on the bed to watch it. The breakfast provided was typical of these hotels. I agree with other poster about the sausage(yuk). Every morning I had eggs, yogurt, coffee, and bagel with cream cheese. These were excellent. Every evening I used the pool and whirlpool. This area was never crowded. One night 4 children for 30 minutes. Another night a dad and his son. Very relaxing warm pool water and hot whirlpool. Loved them both. Lifeguard on duty was an odd thing for me to see. In Indiana, hotels don't provide them, but Maryland and Virginia both seem to. I did not use the workout room, but I did look in. It had free weights, 2 treadmills, cycle, eliptical. Looked new and well kept. I had asked for a quiet room(I live on a farm out in the boonies where it is silent at night) and I got one on the 6th floor, away from the highway. I slept great every night, not hearing anything. My only complaint would be the prices charged, both room rate and the small snack shop. 20 ounce pepsi was $2.75. I only had 2 in 4 days. If the room rate had been $105-$130 per night, I would have been a happy camper and likely to return. They could have given me this rate if they wanted to, but I guess they don't need to count on repeat family customers for their business, when they have corporations who will pay the top rate. If you are looking for a good rate, check out the Manassas, VA area. Gaithersburg is a nice place, but won't be back.

Room Tip: Rooms away from 270 are quietest. Higher up are quieter than lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Springhill Suites. Thank you for all of your positive and specific comments. Our pricing tiers are competitive within our area, and we are glad to have been able to offer you the discount we had available at that time. We appreciate the time our guests take to help us improve our business.

Ginger Bash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Address: 9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.