We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here while on a work trip. The place is extremely clean and the entire staff is great. The rooms are spacious and laid out nice. In general I like everything about this hotel except the breakfast. Not that its bad, but it is the typical “continental” breakfast with store bought muffins, make your own waffle and bad scrambled eggs. The saving grace is the hotel is close to an upscale tourist area complete with restaurants, a multi-plex and best of all Star Bucks. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
53
16
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with a bus load of Girl Scouts and troop leaders for the Girl Scout National Sing Along event on the National Mall. I really liked the way the rooms were laid out. Breakfast bar was kept fully stocked as there were a number of large groups staying in the hotel. the only complaint I have is that the elevators are a little slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Second time in a row they booked the hotel with 10-15 year kids with no extra help to keep them quiet. This is NOT a business hotel. It is a hotel for young bratty, noisy kids that they apparently are trying to fill their rooms with.

Room Tip: This place is also a couple years past due for a remodel. Surprised Marriott lets them fly their ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Many rooms were booked for our daughters wedding. We were looking forward to a pleasant experience but it was a disappointment to us all. Common complaints of our group included dirty carpets, leaking faucet bases,refrigerators that didn't work ( one of our party had one that worked, the ones that didn't they tried to explain away as coolers and we should consider placing an ice bucket inside, which if done, would leave almost no room to fit anything else -their biggest complaint we were told ), bathrooms were not clean - upon arrival our group noticed debris on the toilets ranging from clumps of hair to other conditions which showed a major need to sanitize but were neglected. Three rooms booked were done so for 3 days thinking that the biggest part of 1 day could be used to enjoy at the pool ( since wedding rehersal was in the evening) But we were told the pool was only open from 5 to 10 pm that day ,which after our groups disappointment and complaint of it not being seen on the web site info now appears to be added ( good to see so that others can see it on site and not pay for an extra day without getting to enjoy the pool time they anticipated). We went to the pool one evening, 20 min. prior to scheduled close and were told we couldn't go in because they put chemicals in because the water was foaming --why, if the hours were 5 to 10 pm that evening, wasn't the water tested and chemicals added earlier in the day in preparation for its 5 to 10 pm use. Every aspect of this place may not have been terrible, but the overall rating from our group of several rooms was poor. Don't like confrontation or having to complain to desk personnel or management but too much to overlook which detracted from the experience. We told the management we would not stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Have nothing good to say!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

SpringHill Suites is a solid choice for a comfortable stay. It's not meant to be a fancy brand, rather it provide plenty of conveniences at a very reasonable price...and this hotel is a good representative of the brand. The staff was friendly and responsive every time we had a question or need. The complimentary breakfast is fairly typical for this level of accommodations, but certainly good enough to provide you with a solid start to your day...and the staff was always willing to help you if you had a special request. The free wifi Internet access is great, but it did drop several times during our two day stay. The hotel is very conveniently located near a fun shopping area, though one note of caution. If you're in a hurry to get somewhere other than the shopping area, then turn left out of the hotel and avoid the shopping district. If your turn right, then you'll have to deal with a bit of "slow go" traffic and pedestrian flow. Overall, it's a solid choice, especially for a family whic needs a bit of extra room space.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Have never been disappointed in staying at SpringHill Suites. Friendly staff, clean & spacious rooms; free internet, great complimentary breakfast & this one easy access to highway; right off 270. Convenient to a couple of restaurants and small shopping area with movie theater. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I thought long and hard before writing this, as I have already complained about the issue that we had to the management, however I think that the people deserve to know.
We booked this hotel because it had suites (as the name suggests) and a pool. The website even said "children pool". However, what the website failed to note that this pool is rented out to a swim school, so on the night we came there we had to share the pool with 5 small children and their instructors. The parents of those children were incredibly rude to me, the instructors mopped the floor with the hotel towels, and all in all, the hotel guests are unwelcome at the pool until the lessons are over, in our case it was after 6:30 pm. So bear this in mind when you book!
Other than that, the hotel is clean, the beds - comfortable, and thanks to the tip from tripadvisor.com we asked for an even-numbered room, so it was very quiet at night. The room was big enough for myself and my children (3 beds plus a crib), and we did not feel cramped. Breakfast was ok, too many carbs, but really can't complain. It is close to a Metro station and within walking distance from Washington Rio Centre. The hotel staff was nice. Ah, if only I did not go to the pool, I would have given this stay 5 stars!

Room Tip: Choose the even-numbered room that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg

Address: 9715 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.