We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montgomery County Fair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery County Agricultural Fair

Montgomery County Agricultural Fair
16 Chestnut Street, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
(301)926-3100
Improve this listing
Type:
Attraction details
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Montgomery County Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's fun for a family visit, tho not exciting -- livestock, produce, etc. It's worth going once or twice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Md.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Farming in Suburbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Maryland Agriculture at it's FINEST! Aricultural technology with beautiful farmland amidst well kept and friendly neighborhoods and keeping our community spirit bright and lively!! Come and Enjoy the Animals, our FFA, our Tractor Pulls, our homegrown food, our farmong antiques, our carnival rides and plenty of beautiful animals!! Begins August 9th, 2013

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a large fair...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Having been raised in 4-H I have gone to many fairs as a competitor, visitor, Judge and for viewing animals. This is a nice large fair.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's smelly animals and country crafts, don't go if you'r not into such.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an old-fashion county fair with all the associated trappings, animal smells, country kitch, a midway with rides that shoudl probably be condemed and fair-food. If you're not into that old-fashioned stuff, DON'T GO. Personally, I grew up in the deep South and fondly remember county fairs. I enjoy the smells and sounds (still won't ride the midway rides <grin>) and the food is great. It takes me back to my childhood and that's exactly why I go!
One downside to this fair - it is hosted in August, the hottest month of the year in the DC area. The fairgrounds are largely concrete and only a few areas are shaded. Bring a hat, sunscreen and hydration (or be prepared to buy a lot of drinks).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Great Family Fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enter from the end away from the midway and try to take in as much of the exhibits as possible before spending a few minutes on the midway. It's a very traditional country fair with tractor pulls, animial exhibits and all sorts of crafts.
We never miss it. Look for discout tickets and discount days. Parking is pretty easy, unless it rains.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery County Agricultural Fair also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery County Agricultural Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery County Agricultural Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.