We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Fair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery County Agricultural Fair

Montgomery County Agricultural Fair
16 Chestnut Street, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
(301)926-3100
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 14 attractions in Gaithersburg
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A Great Family Fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enter from the end away from the midway and try to take in as much of the exhibits as possible before spending a few minutes on the midway. It's a very traditional country fair with tractor pulls, animial exhibits and all sorts of crafts.
We never miss it. Look for discout tickets and discount days. Parking is pretty easy, unless it rains.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gotta go to the Fair!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Montgomery County may be bordering Washington, DC - but you will not believe it when you step onto the fairgrounds. Aside from a full midway with rides and games & various food options - the animal exhibits and arts/crafts/food competitions are amazing. The fair is heavily tied into 4H and the animal and exhibit pavilions are a must see. Family day is usually on Wednesday - and you can get a discount on ride bracelets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Go elsewhere. Too expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went w 2 adults and a 4 year old and 2 year old.
First, parking was $10. Adult admission. $10 each.
Then food. $5 for a hot dog. $5 for ice cream, the size of a kid cone.
Outrageous!,,,

That's not even the rides. Rides are at least $3 or $4 each. In the younger age range ther are maybe 6 rides to chose from,
The animals were ok...

When did the fair cost soooo much?
Howard count or Frederick fair are not like this at all...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bring your own drinks - Good for Toddlers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've been today to the fair with my 5 and 2 year old. We had a nice time, and got tired before exploring all the options. plenty of what to do and see for toddlers who appreciate the animals, demonstrations and shows, and (highlight for them) the John Deer Tractors. Regarding pricing, we've come with our own water and snacks, which made the staying reasonable. As we concentrated on the free parts of the Fair, we went out with the fair tickets and parking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good experience for my kids even it's expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The parking fee at Perry Parkway was $10 while the parking area in Dalamar St was only $89. We bought multi pass rides forour two kids by online $20 each ticket plus $3 convenient fee, & expenses inside the Agricultural Fair was about $92. The entrance fee is free for kids under 12. We didn't allow our kids to participate any games due to additional expenses. Total expenses for 2 adults & 2kids was $158 . The parking sign in Perry Pwy was organised. The weather was warm. Plenty of rides suitable for kids ages 8-11 yrs old. We'd enjoyed the Aussie Show (educational), diff animals exhibits, unusual animals displays, etc. It wasn't crowded. The stalls owners were not pushy seller. The toilet was cleaned & there was no collection of tips from the cleaning lady. Even though that my spouse and I didn't go for any rides coz it will be additional $46, we'd a nice time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery County Agricultural Fair also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery County Agricultural Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery County Agricultural Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.