We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere. Too expensive.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery County Agricultural Fair

Montgomery County Agricultural Fair
16 Chestnut Street, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
(301)926-3100
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 attractions in Gaithersburg
Attraction Details
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Go elsewhere. Too expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went w 2 adults and a 4 year old and 2 year old.
First, parking was $10. Adult admission. $10 each.
Then food. $5 for a hot dog. $5 for ice cream, the size of a kid cone.
Outrageous!,,,

That's not even the rides. Rides are at least $3 or $4 each. In the younger age range ther are maybe 6 rides to chose from,
The animals were ok...

When did the fair cost soooo much?
Howard count or Frederick fair are not like this at all...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bring your own drinks - Good for Toddlers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've been today to the fair with my 5 and 2 year old. We had a nice time, and got tired before exploring all the options. plenty of what to do and see for toddlers who appreciate the animals, demonstrations and shows, and (highlight for them) the John Deer Tractors. Regarding pricing, we've come with our own water and snacks, which made the staying reasonable. As we concentrated on the free parts of the Fair, we went out with the fair tickets and parking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good experience for my kids even it's expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The parking fee at Perry Parkway was $10 while the parking area in Dalamar St was only $89. We bought multi pass rides forour two kids by online $20 each ticket plus $3 convenient fee, & expenses inside the Agricultural Fair was about $92. The entrance fee is free for kids under 12. We didn't allow our kids to participate any games due to additional expenses. Total expenses for 2 adults & 2kids was $158 . The parking sign in Perry Pwy was organised. The weather was warm. Plenty of rides suitable for kids ages 8-11 yrs old. We'd enjoyed the Aussie Show (educational), diff animals exhibits, unusual animals displays, etc. It wasn't crowded. The stalls owners were not pushy seller. The toilet was cleaned & there was no collection of tips from the cleaning lady. Even though that my spouse and I didn't go for any rides coz it will be additional $46, we'd a nice time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

it's always fun to go to the fair, but it has become much too expensive. I can't imagine how families with young kids can afford to spend a day at the fair, which in my opinion, is such a shame.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Montgomery County Agriculture Fair Boring & Expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Mongomery County Agriculture Fair was boring, expensive, and over-crowded. Animal Exhibits were poorly kept (unkempt) and smelly. Food was over-priced; Parking and Entry Fee was too expensive for this kind of event. Felt cheated.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery County Agricultural Fair also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery County Agricultural Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery County Agricultural Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.