We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great. Too many children.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savage River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frostburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savage River Lodge
Save
You added Savage River Lodge to your Saves list
1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Food is great. Too many children.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We eat at Savage River Lodge a few times a year when we are in Garrett County for weekends. The food is good and they usually have an interesting menu. Our principal complaint is that the restaurant is too family-friendly. SRL sells their dinners as "romantic and serene" however there are always misbehaved children or families with babies. I would expect much better for a $60/person restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
190
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The lodge itself is absolutley spectacular. Very beautifully constructed and kept. The cabins are the same. The decor is simple yet very inviting and relaxing. Extremely clean too! Amazed that this place existed way back in the mountains, very remote which adds to the luster of the experience. At first my husband was not sure about the no tv, no radio thing in the cabin. I did not mind and soon enough we both found an interesting read and later we played checkers. We only stayed one night. Food at the restaurant was also very good! Nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and lodge
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Have been here for dinner a number of times. The food is expensive and good. However each time we have had issues with atmosphere. The restaurant has no problem sitting families for dinner, especially near couples dining. Frankly, this isn't a restaurant for families.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Stayed at Savage river lodge for one night. Wished we had stayed much longer! We travelled there during September and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Accomodation consists of simple, rustic styled loft style cabins nestled in amongst the forests. Absolutely tranquil & peaceful. Comfortable bed. Place would be magical during winter with plenty of cross country ski trails around the lodge. The main lodge has a gift shop, restaurant and indoor & outdoor relaxation areas. We had one dinner at the restaurant on the balcony on a balmy evening and it was very romantic and the home cooked food (meatloaf, sausages & oven baked trout) was delicious and introduced us to local flavours. Check in was very efficient & we were given a tour of the cabin upon check in. Didn't have enough time to enjoy the surroundings but were fortunate enough to see deer and sit in the gardens & enjoy the tranquility.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Too far for us to visit regularly!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We are a 30-something couple who love the outdoors. After years of traveling to Deep Creek Lake, we were looking for a change and booked a long birthday weekend at the Savage River Lodge. The lodge is now our new favorite getaway destination; we can't wait to go back.

The details:
It's a quick drive from Pittsburgh - a little over 2 hours. As you approach the property, you quickly realize that this is no tourist-trap, overly commercial "nature" escape. It's the real deal. The lodge is very secluded, nestled in a state park. The property is quiet, peaceful and pristine. There are 18 individual cabins dotting a wooded path, and a short walk leads you to the main lodge. The lodge is beautiful, with cushy couches, lots of wood and amazing views from the outside dining deck. The cabins are clean, comfortable, and luxurious - the loft beds are plush, the soaking tub and pine-scented toiletries are wonderful after a long hike, and the fireplace (stove-type) is cozy at night.

Dining:
The restaurant is a destination unto itself. Lee was a welcoming host who took time to chat with every table. One night, the special was morels from the property, and he went into the kitchen to show us how the mushrooms looked in the wild so we would know what to look for on our next hike. Nick was a personable and efficient waiter who offered great recommendations and made us very comfortable both evenings that we dined at the lodge. The food was delicious and inventive, with an impressive wine list and great draft beer choices as well. The rich, creamy crab dip is excellent and not be be missed. A couple got engaged in the dining room while we were there, and everyone was in on the celebration. Breakfast was a treat - my mouth is still watering over the crisp bacon cooked with maple syrup, as well as the crab eggs benedict. (Can you tell we really enjoyed the food?)

Activities:
The lodge has 13 miles of well-marked hiking trails. There is fly fishing nearby, as well as a variety of parks and other outdoor recreation. We are avid bikers and loved riding the Great Allegheny Passage; the lodge offers shuttle service to different points on the trail, and we enjoyed a great afternoon biking from Meyersdale to Frostburg. We ordered a picnic lunch from the lodge to take on the trail - even the sanwiches were above average. There are rockers on the porch of each cabin where you can relax, unwind and gaze into the woods. One afternoon, five deer came within feet of our cabin and peacefully grazed while we watched. Field glasses are a great item to bring along.

The extras:
Every morning, a basket with muffins, orange juice (in a charming mason jar) and a lodge newsletter are left on your front porch. It's a wonderful start to the day. The owners, Mike and Jan, are extremely friendly and personable. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and Mike was a great resource on local biking destinations as well as other opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. The lodge is dog-friendly, as well.

The verdict:
A wonderful, idyllic and relaxing escape from the daily grind. If you love the outdoors, you will love the Savage River Lodge.

  • Liked — Thoughtful details, amazing food, wonderful location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This place came highly reccomended from a coworker of mine, and definitely lived up to all the hype! We took the dog for the weekend and had such a relaxing time that we are already looking forward to when we can come back! Below are some of the our highlights-

Accomodations- Our cabin was very spacious (2 floors) and decorated like something out of pottery barn. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in! We probably spent most of our time though, just sitting on our private wide porch in the rocking chairs and just enjoying the quiet of the woods.

Food- The lodge restaurant is great! The food is on par with a good restaurant in DC. We ate breakfast and dinner outside on the deck overlooking the woods, and both meals were amazing! Also I liked that they had a fully stocked bar with a great wine list, try the One Sweet World Choc Martini, its unbelievable!

Staff- Everyone there is so nice! It really made our weekend special, having such friendly people taking care of us. I have to say a special thanks to Lee, Dennis, and Dave, these guys will definitely treat you like a VIP!

Dog Friendly- We loved that we could bring our dog and that the Lodge made it so easy to take care of them there (clean up stations, dog biscuits, bowls, etc). You can tell that the owners of Savage River love dogs as much as we do!

Picnic Baskets- I really liked getting a picnic basket delivered to our doorstep every morning filled with fresh orange juice, homemade delicous muffins, and dog treats. To me this was just heaven!

Hiking- There are many outdoor activities to choose from, but we decided to go hiking. The trails and scenery were great. And we really liked the fact that even though it was a Saturday, we went 2 hours and only saw 1 other group of hikers.

All in all great weekend getaway! Would definitely come again!

  • Liked — picnic baskets, dog friendly, food
  • Disliked — coffee in rooms wasnt that good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Our weekend at SRL was exactly what we were looking for. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary with our best friends. SRL allowed the right amount of relaxation and physical activity. If you enjoy hiking, you'll find great trails. If you enjoy relaxing around a fire and being pampered, you'll find that option as well. The staff was very warm and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with them. The restaurant was quite good and the muffins in the morning were great. The bonfire in the evening was a lot of fun -- lively conversations with people from other areas of the country.

We look forward to our next trip.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — The gas fireplaces in the cabins were not work yet (but it really was still almost summer).
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savage River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.