We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savage River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frostburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savage River Lodge
Save
You added Savage River Lodge to your Saves list
1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Quiet Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend in one of the cabins at Savage River Lodge. Overall it is a great place to come unwind. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The restaurant served delicious food and provided incredible service.

My only qualm with SRL is that it is a little pricey for what you get. The breakfast included is a muffin and orange juice (which is brought to your cabin along with the Washington Post) and your room isn't turned unless requested by noon that day. For the price and location, I expected a little more.

Overall, it was a beautiful and quiet weekend. SLR is a wonderfully cared for slice of heaven!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
190
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed here twice, both times in the cold part of the year. We love that we can take our dog. The restaurant has always been very good, as is the bar and the lodge. We like looking forward to the muffins, OJ, and “Washington Post” delivered to our cabin every morning. The best thing I can offer is that it is evident that the staff wants you to have a good time and go out of their way to make it happen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I recently had a weekend getaway at Savage River Lodge. I've lost count of our visits, but it's been more than 6 times that we've stayed here. SRL is the perfect place for a romantic, relaxing getaway. The cabins are cozy, private, and large. The restaurant is amazing -- truly one of the best in Maryland. This time we enjoyed a wine tasting and holiday food sampling on Saturday. Everything was top-notch. Walking the many trails on Saturday in the woods was peaceful, and there was just enough snow on the ground to put us in a holiday mood. Warm muffins, freshly squeezed juice and the paper arrived each morning at our doorstep in a picnic basket, and the in-room coffeemaker ensured our privacy.
We love coming here and will return often. My only concern about recommending it is that too many people will learn about "our special retreat!"

Green Features: SRL is committed to "green." They have recycling bins available in the lodge and in the cabins. They also are environmentally conscious about water useage,
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked the lodge for our anniversary after reading an article in our local paper. It is truly a beautiful place. The cabins are large, warm and cozy. There was about a 1/2 inch of snow on the ground which made our stay even better. A small bottle of champagne was waiting for us when we entered the cabin. This was a nice touch. There is no TV so we read, caught up with our favorite shows on our Kindles and drove around the area. The Flight 93 memorial is only about an hour's drive away in Pennsylvania so we visited there. It is a lovely memorial to those who lost their lives there on 9/11.

The staff at the lodge were nice and very friendly. They have a nice gift shop. We didn't eat at the restaurant, prices seemed high, but did get cabin service one night. My only complaint would be the cost of cabin service. I thought $10.00 to deliver one sandwich was very high since the lodge and restaurant are nearby. The small refrigerator was a nice touch in the cabin as well as the muffins and orange juice delivery in the morning. A microwave would have been nice to heat up the muffins though.

We would definitely visit there again, maybe in the Spring.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra money for a cabin that faces the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you travel a lot you will find that it takes a little time to warm up to a new place and get comfortable. Well, Not the Savage River Lodge Cabins. The moment I walked into the place I was at home. Clean, Quiet, Cozy, Warm and just plain Welcome.

These are traditional log cabins with no kitchens, no TV, no internet or radio. This is a place for couples to retreat to and find each other and their self. With that said I do think they need to add internet. I was so unplugged that the world could have come to an end and I would have not known.

The beads were comfortable and warm. The heat in the cabin was a gas fired wood stove looking heater that was thermostat controlled. It was Thanksgiving week and there was already snow on the ground.

You should have four wheel drive to drive to the cabin yourself in the winter however, they offer transportation from the driveway entrance to the cabin for those who don't .

There is an on site Lodge that has good food and more wine than you can imagine. I brought my own wine on this trip but, it was not due to a shortage at the Lodge.

This is a place you will want to return to anytime you need to withdraw from the day to day hustle for a spell. About 3 to 3 1/2 hours from the DC Area. It is a little pricey but, this is no discount destination.

Room Tip: All seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit but will not be the last. Staff were friendly and helpful. Massage therapist was on time and skilled. All aspects of the cabin were comfortable--chairs, bedding, towels, great shower head, lighting. We had a great time, reading and catching up on rest after an eventful year. I was seeking a place where we could take our dogs with no hassle, eat and sleep well and enjoy some peace and quiet. We found it all. The fire at the Lodge and great bar were a bonus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just spent our third Thanksgiving here and will definitely be back for more. This is a hidden gem, nestled in the mountains of Western Maryland: a snug lodge with excellent food and cozy cabins set in the woods. Our party of 14 could not have felt more at home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savage River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.