We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savage River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frostburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savage River Lodge
1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50/40/30 Bike Excursion
Ranked #1 of 2 Frostburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Romantic relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I recently had a weekend getaway at Savage River Lodge. I've lost count of our visits, but it's been more than 6 times that we've stayed here. SRL is the perfect place for a romantic, relaxing getaway. The cabins are cozy, private, and large. The restaurant is amazing -- truly one of the best in Maryland. This time we enjoyed a wine tasting and holiday food sampling on Saturday. Everything was top-notch. Walking the many trails on Saturday in the woods was peaceful, and there was just enough snow on the ground to put us in a holiday mood. Warm muffins, freshly squeezed juice and the paper arrived each morning at our doorstep in a picnic basket, and the in-room coffeemaker ensured our privacy.
We love coming here and will return often. My only concern about recommending it is that too many people will learn about "our special retreat!"

Green Features: SRL is committed to "green." They have recycling bins available in the lodge and in the cabins. They also are environmentally conscious about water useage,
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    40
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
164
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked the lodge for our anniversary after reading an article in our local paper. It is truly a beautiful place. The cabins are large, warm and cozy. There was about a 1/2 inch of snow on the ground which made our stay even better. A small bottle of champagne was waiting for us when we entered the cabin. This was a nice touch. There is no TV so we read, caught up with our favorite shows on our Kindles and drove around the area. The Flight 93 memorial is only about an hour's drive away in Pennsylvania so we visited there. It is a lovely memorial to those who lost their lives there on 9/11.

The staff at the lodge were nice and very friendly. They have a nice gift shop. We didn't eat at the restaurant, prices seemed high, but did get cabin service one night. My only complaint would be the cost of cabin service. I thought $10.00 to deliver one sandwich was very high since the lodge and restaurant are nearby. The small refrigerator was a nice touch in the cabin as well as the muffins and orange juice delivery in the morning. A microwave would have been nice to heat up the muffins though.

We would definitely visit there again, maybe in the Spring.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra money for a cabin that faces the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you travel a lot you will find that it takes a little time to warm up to a new place and get comfortable. Well, Not the Savage River Lodge Cabins. The moment I walked into the place I was at home. Clean, Quiet, Cozy, Warm and just plain Welcome.

These are traditional log cabins with no kitchens, no TV, no internet or radio. This is a place for couples to retreat to and find each other and their self. With that said I do think they need to add internet. I was so unplugged that the world could have come to an end and I would have not known.

The beads were comfortable and warm. The heat in the cabin was a gas fired wood stove looking heater that was thermostat controlled. It was Thanksgiving week and there was already snow on the ground.

You should have four wheel drive to drive to the cabin yourself in the winter however, they offer transportation from the driveway entrance to the cabin for those who don't .

There is an on site Lodge that has good food and more wine than you can imagine. I brought my own wine on this trip but, it was not due to a shortage at the Lodge.

This is a place you will want to return to anytime you need to withdraw from the day to day hustle for a spell. About 3 to 3 1/2 hours from the DC Area. It is a little pricey but, this is no discount destination.

Room Tip: All seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit but will not be the last. Staff were friendly and helpful. Massage therapist was on time and skilled. All aspects of the cabin were comfortable--chairs, bedding, towels, great shower head, lighting. We had a great time, reading and catching up on rest after an eventful year. I was seeking a place where we could take our dogs with no hassle, eat and sleep well and enjoy some peace and quiet. We found it all. The fire at the Lodge and great bar were a bonus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We just spent our third Thanksgiving here and will definitely be back for more. This is a hidden gem, nestled in the mountains of Western Maryland: a snug lodge with excellent food and cozy cabins set in the woods. Our party of 14 could not have felt more at home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked a cabin and made reservations at the restaurant for an anniversary celebration. The property was beautiful and the cabins adequate (for the price should have been more than adequate). The lodge was smokey from an unattended fire (so we were not able to sit and enjoy the ambiance) and the restaurant a complete disappointment. Unable to eat the food and went to bed hungry. Owner and staff completely out of touch and did not respond well to our complaints. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great stay!
They have a very gorgeous location. The cabins offer privacy and comfort, while the lodge offers the comfort of a real fire, the bar and dining. The staff was very responsive, one example they setup a fire outside before dinner for us.

If you go, ask to have a cabin that’s porch faces the woods. They have some arrangements for day trips. Research them yourselves; we saved by booking directly with the vendors the lodge marks these up a bit. We booked a cheese tasting at Firefly Creamery ourselves for 130 dollars, while the SRL charges 175 for the same tasting.

The desk staff was a-little awkward at moments and not super-efficient. Our best example was when we checked out they had to calculate our dining and bar charges, which seemed natural. This took 20mins, I am not kidding. A two night stay, two dinners and one bar bill took 20 mins to calculate. I can’t put my finger on it, but there is something not inviting to the desk area, which is not in harmony with the rest of the experience.

Over all with the age and use of these cabins they look to be in good shape, but not perfect. It’s hard to overlook stains in the carpet at this price point. Although you can tell they are up-keeping the cabins you can spot signs of age. I observed some of the same notes below from other reviews. The cabins need attention in some areas. I have 4 examples. The carpets had stains in them. The door frame had chewing marks. The fabric in one of the arm chair was worn down and piling. The door mat was faded. The Cabin also felt very dark. They either need more lights or brighter bulbs.

Overall we had a great experience here, but the SRL has some room for improvement. Its hard to rate the SRL, because they are above average, but maybe shy of very good. I will error on the very good side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savage River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Savage River Lodge to your Saves list