We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of Heaven in Maryland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savage River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frostburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savage River Lodge
Save
You added Savage River Lodge to your Saves list
1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Frostburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“A little slice of Heaven in Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

SRL is a perfect spot for a little get a way. Awesome cabins secluded in the woods, great food and service, pet friendly and Mike and Jan will make you feel at home. A must see. Awesome hiking trails from easy to difficult.

Perfect weekend spot and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    43
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
179
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I just returned from an extraordinary visit at this remarkable property and I cannot say enough about the fantastic time I had. The Innkeepers Mike and Jan have practically put my dream property together and dangled it right before my eyes, for me to envy. At Savage River Lodge you will find the most charming cabin accommodations that are available anywhere! The food at the main lodge was simply incredible, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Combine that with the most gracious and hospitable innkeepers you’ve ever met, and what you will find is a little piece of heaven in Garrett County, MD. I’d be foolish to not want to return. In fact when I arrived, the first thing I did was called my mother and told her, “If I die here, don’t bother bringing me home!” It’s that gorgeous!

Room Tip: Make sure you have 4 wheel drive, and good hiking boots. If you are the type of person to complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I pass by the exit to this place when I'm traveling from D.C. to Western MD. Recently, I left early to arrive here around 9 a.m. to have breakfast on the porch. It was a beautiful fall morning, crisp but not cold. I sat on the porch and had breakfast. It was wonderful. The coffee was really good (and I am picky about coffee). The inside of the lodge is beautiful and about as close to something from Wyoming as you will get in this area. The view across the meadow is really peaceful and the soothing music playing was really relaxing. I could have taken a nap, but needed to hit the road. I've been here several times for lunch or for a nice glas of wine on the porch, but never for breakfast. My experience was really good, so I will do it again. I do want to go back when it's snowing to sit by the large stone fireplace and watch it snow. It's a beautiful environment and location.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here overnight, but it would probably be fun to stay in the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This review is a bit late, but no less accurate. We had a lovely weekend in May 2012 at the Lodge. The cabin was comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurant was delicious and it was so relaxing to walk "home" after dinner rather than having to drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was really hoping that our trip to Savage River Lodge would live up to my expectations. They were at something of a disadvantage though because it was our first weekend away since our baby was born and it was our Fifth wedding anniversary so a lot was riding on this weekend. The staff went above and beyond my expectations in every respect. First, the owners left us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was a lovely and unexpected touch. Second, Serena at the front desk was incredibly warm and helpful (as was the entire staff for that matter), clearly caring about the Lodge and how the guests are treated. Third, the breakfast muffins are delicious and enormous. Fourth, Carol, the personelle manager told us about the sculpture garden at Kentuck Knob (we did the Arts and Nature package) which we would have missed without her imput. Fifth, the beds are phenomenal! Like sleeping in a cozy marshmallow. Finally, and this is where they really got me. Upon our arrival, there was a slight issue with housekeeping not finishing our room. I informed Serena at the desk, who apologized profusely, asked if there was anything she could get out of our way, and credited us for the inconvience. Then, the next day, Carol asked for permission to have housekeeping redo the cleaning (normally you have to ask for a freshening service). Upon our return, not only was the cabin spotless, but they had left us chocolate covered strawberries as an additional apology. I've been to a lot of hotels and B&B's and I've never had any staff so thoroughly and competantly handle a problem. Is the stay expensive? Yes. But is it worth it? To be treated like treasured guests and old friends at the same time? Absolutely. My only regret is that we were unable to meet the lodge dogs. Oh well, I'm sure we will next time because we will absolutely be returning.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 probably has the easiest parking but we had no complaints about cabin 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I visited the Savage River Lodge for our second visit. We were late getting to the lodge but they had a nice basket waiting outside for us with out key, etc. As part of the Savage River experience, they deliver muffins to your cabin every morning with a Washington Post.

We really enjoyed the downtime. We took two walks on the marked trails on the property. We saw 4 deer and jumped a grouse.

We ate at the Lodge restaurant. We had the beef short ribs and the meat loaf. Both dishes were outstanding. We had the carrot cake for dessert which was fantastic.

The staff at the lodge is outstanding and very helpful. The property is beautiful.

They offer a happy hour to meet the owners but we didn't have time to make it. We enjoyed the time on the outside.

Room Tip: Make reservations early. This place sells out quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just retruned from our first trip to SRL and we loved it! From the first conversation with Serena, we knew we would not be disappointed. She suggested Cabin 15 because we brought our cat, Muffy; and for the porch overlooking the woods. The drive there from the MD Eastern Shore was long and full of aniticipation as we approached the last few miles. The gravel road up the hills to the lodge confirmed we were in a distant world unknown to many. It was stunning to see one hill after another dotted with the remnants of colorful leaves. The bright green hillsides mixed with the barren limbs and trunks gave us a view so different from home.
We checked in and drove to our cabin excited like two kids going off to camp! What a pleasant surprise it was. I can only describe it as "Unpretentious Rustic Luxury". It was simple in decor and furnishings, but very comfortable. The bed was great with soft microfiber linens and a down comforter. We had everything we needed to relax and "get away". The SRL staff had a bottle of wine and truffles along with a nice card to acknowledge our special events we were celebrating. Muffy enjoyed exploring the room and climbing the massive wood stairs. It was fun to see her out of her usual routine like us! She eventually found her favorite spot overlooking us from the loft. We had a fabulous dinner, way too much food; the short ribs were excellent and I saved a few bites for the cat. Our server, Michael, was very friendly, without being overbearing, and took great care of us. It was fun walking back the long lane with our little flashlight enjoying the sounds of the woods surrounding us.
The next day we awoke to find the basket on the porch with muffins and juice.It was a lovely amenity and we savored the experience. Later, we took a walk on the trail in our "orange vests for safety" as it was hunting season outside the area. We ate a late lunch that day and while waiting to go to dinner later, met the owner, and helped him "chunkin' pumpkins" to feed the resident deer. It was fun and quite an experience.
Our second dinner was just as great (the carrot cake is the very best!) and we enjoyed the huge fireplace at the bar to finish off our day. With the impending hurricane we left early the next morning to get home. We wished we could have stayed another few days and been "snowed in", but it was not possible. Maybe on the next trip!
We highly recommend SRL !

Room Tip: Pick a room with the porch facing the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savage River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.