We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hen House Restaurant

Hen House Restaurant
18072 National Pike, Frostburg, MD 21532-6012
301-689-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Frostburg
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morgantown
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

First experience at the hen house. Large bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup, fresh bread, and a very good salad. Shrimp, steak, ribs, fried chicken, baked potatoes all excellent! No room for dessert. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food...Expensive Soft Drinks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped by the Hen House after not eating there for some years. The place was crowded as usual, and we decided to try the "famous" chicken as everything was rather pricey. The salad and bread were very good and came free with our meals. The quarter chicken dinners were good, although more expensive than other restaurants in the area. We (two of us) had iced tea and they were refilled once. Although we enjoyed our dinners and the service was quite good, we probably will not return. Our iced teas were a total of $5.00 of the bill. Not a place I will recommend for this reason alone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If quite different from the old Hen House in looks, but the food is first rate as it always was. I have never had bad food or service there. The Hen House is a great place to go with friends and family or larger groups. The seafood is fresh and as good as I eaten any where. The new building is well decorated with a lodge decor. It is warm and inviting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the homemade soup to the good bread to the wonderful fried chicken, our dinners were plentiful, hot, and DE-licious! We'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic! So much free stuff it's amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you go now it's definitely not the Hen House of "old" that the locals grew up with. That being said it's still pretty great.

Yeah the food has gotten a little more pricey and yeah maybe it's gone down in quality a notch but it's still awesome. It's locally known for it's fried chicken, ribs, and crabs.

So you go in and order your meal. You get as much bread, chicken noodle soup, and salad as you want. I don't like ranch dressing that much but it's made in house and probably the best I've ever had.

The service has always been friendly and attentive.

Go in the summer if you can, The Hen House has great outdoor seating and the area surrounding it is beautiful. Plus they have all-you-can-eat crabs, chicken, corn, and bread on Mondays I think I heard. Don't hold me to that.

If you trying to catch a future celebrity athlete I've also heard that the UMD and WVU athletes stop here when in transit after playing one another...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hen House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.