We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel
639 Water St, Friendsville, MD 21531
(301) 746-5253
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
Restaurant details
Geneva, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Most places don't have a good understanding of vegan. Riverside is the exception. Very good vegan food, best we've had in a restaurant. Thank you! We opted for carry-out because our party was very large and the kids were tired from rock climbing all day. We got a quart of veggie chili, 2 salads, 2 rolls, 2 desserts and 2 drinks for under $20.

The river goddess salad dressing is very very good. We bought the cookbook and can now make some recipes ourselves.

Convenient to the Upper Yough, the area is filled with rafters and kayakers alike. Thank you to Agnes and Mike for your hospitality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Md
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The owners of this hotel and restaurant grown the vegetables served here, make the salad dressings, bake the bread and desserts. It is a very friendly place to be. One evening it felt like we were visiting them in their home.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you Ellen - we always enjoy having you dine here and meeting your friends. See you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant serves a simple fixed dinner on summer weekends: all you can eat soup, salad, homemade bread, lemonade, and several desserts (like cayenne brownies, apple pie, or Tandy cakes). Since we had little kids tired from hiking all day, we opted for take out. The owners carefully packed up a large selection of items for us to take back to our hotel. Everything was fresh and delicious! We couldn't have asked for a nicer simple weekend meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your honest review and hope to have you stop by again during your travels so then you can taste the Tandy Cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So refreshing-relaxing- great healthy cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As soon as we drove up, I was taken back to the time when I grew up in the 40's-50's- quiet & so peaceful. We were the first ones there, and the hostess quickly welcomed us, introduced us to the menu, which consisted of everything I knew my vegetarian granddaughter would love, as we were were returning from Greensburg, PA,- heading home. The Organic & Vegetarian menu was for one fixed reasonable price, which included drinks, ( -the best lemonade ever), fresh organic salad with delicious dressings, -the best bread ever- so hot, it just melted the butter instantly, ( I am a bread maker, & this bread was tops!) ,- then two soups to choose from,- Cajun Bean & Potato- both top notch- then-- desert,-- it was sure hard to resist the Tandycake, but I settle for Peach Pie - so good! There were so many choices of dessert, it was difficult to make a decision. We were seated on the porch, there was a warm but balmy breeze to relax us, as we watched & listen to the river across the street. It was so quiet and peaceful, it was a awesome experience, and I would recommend this for anyone wanting to try something different, that is healthy, and relaxing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just wonderful - charming, simple, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is just wonderful! It would be hard to be more authentic. You pay a fixed price for salad that's grown yards away, plus bread that was probably baked hours earlier (delicious), and as many helpings as you can handle of the wonderful homemade soups. And then a dessert after that. Oh, and a drink. Not to mention the ambience of sitting on the covered front porch watching the Youghiogheny flow past across the street. On the night that we showed up the soups were garbanzo bean, curried carrot, and a chunky tomato basil, all quite yummy. The proprietors couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. Skip those eateries close to Deep Creek Lake and head on down to Friendsville for this charmer of a place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Hotel also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
Accident, Garrett County
 

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.