We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yough Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yough Valley Motel to your Saves list
Yough Valley Motel
138 Walnut Street, Po Box 123, Friendsville, MD 21531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendsville
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came down to go white water rafting at Precision Rafting. This Motel is within walking distance to it and cost was around $80. some main things i look for are clean sheets, pillows, beds, floors and towels. It provided all these things. For the cost it is a nice place to stay. I would stay here again overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you Heather for your nice review. Being a family owned business, we take pride in our motel. Cleanliness is our top priority. Hope to see you again. Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudlersville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We called the Yough Valley Motel in desperate need of a clean place to sleep after a local home we had rented turned out to be filthy. Tina was sympathetic to our situation and told us to come right over and they would take care of us. She graciously allowed us to view the rooms to put our minds at ease knowing the rooms would be clean for the kids. Tina provided a ton of information on things to do and economical places to find a good meal. Her kindness toward us lightened our mood and ensured we had a wonderful time. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and economical place to stay with a kind, friendly and generous owner, this is the place for you. We don't encounter these things enough these days. Thank you Tina, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello Heather, I'm so glad I was able to help save your vacation. I always try to treat people the way I'd like to be treated, funny I was raised that way. It's always so nice to have someone appreciate the effort and then help spread the word. Thank you and I hope to see you soon. Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were to attend a family reunion in the area, and could not find local accomodations that was "Pet" friendly so that my Daughter's dog could stay with us. My Daughter happened across the "Yough Valley Motel" and we made a reservation. The price was economical. We had clean, quiet, comfortable accomodations and the dog was also welcome and happy. We came in from 17 hours on the road and the people in the town were so nice and assisted us in getting a meal and some well needed rest before the reunion the next day. We highly recommend this location for your next vacation stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you McKenzie family for your great review of our motel. We realize we're not fancy, but keep the motel as clean and accomodating as possible. Thank you, Tina Glotfelty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

the car broke down just off exit 4 and the people where so nice they offered us help and when our car could not be fixed they showed us the best place to stay (yough valley motel) the lady was so courtious she heald our room for us, and when we got the bad news that the car could not be fixed she gave us the room for 100.00 and the room was so quaint but perfect i really plan on going back but this time under better circumstances. THANKS YOUGH VALLEY MOTEL and see you this week

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I'm glad we could be there for you. Do come and see us again, you haven't seen all the beauty that Garrett County has to offer. Thank you, Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

we loved the porch and the room was clean enough.no bugs.best part was we could have our dog.was the only reason we stayed.lots of privacy.like the feel of the night.however; bed was crappola hard .and shower was out of hand concerning temperature control. people are nice but they wonder why kayakers only use freindsville as a take out for the river and they eat and motel elswhere? well here is why; Freindsville and motels like this one are older and less classy looking as well as the bed and shower. food? scared to eat it.that is; if they are awake and working at 6 or 7 am. frendsville sleeps in...freindsville needs to realize that kayakers and mountain bikers sleep on $3000 memory foam beds, and have showers with consistant temperature and flow. like us from chicagoland we have the best food in the world.so excellence is not an option with us. we reject and avoid the mediocrote and poverty of Freindsville. deep creek on the other hand is excellent. freindsville needs hospitality and prosperity lessons from deep creek.i do feel sorry for friendsville.they are nice. but they are stuck as i know this motel cant aforrd 20 grand worth of new beds and plumbing.never the less freinds villes potential customers have money which means freindsville needs to up its standards to attract business.,,after all my dog eli checked into nemicolin pet resort and as treated like a king for $25.....

Room Tip: book somewhere in deep creek or 7 springs well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay for our weekend trip to Western, MD, we noticed that many places don't allow dogs, and those that do were pricey. This one was different. They welcomed us with our dogs, and was within our price range. The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed. Plus, after a long day of driving and hiking in the area, it was nice to be able to walk to the Sugar Shack to grab a bite to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you Angela for taking the time to review our motel. I believe having these honest reviews are key to our business. How can we help on the sleeping conditions? We hope to see you and your family again, when you visit our area. Tina Glotfelty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Will definitely come back next time we are in the deep creek area to ski. Thanks for the fine hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We look forward to serving you when you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendsville
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
13.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
16.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
#1 of 1 in Chalk Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yough Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yough Valley Motel

Address: 138 Walnut Street, Po Box 123, Friendsville, MD 21531
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Friendsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-friendly 11 room motel with microwaves,refrigerators,coffee pots, free wi-fi, cable-tv with 150 channels, and heat/ac. Our motel is American owned and operated, as well as family owned and operated.We provide clean,quiet comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yough Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yough Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.