We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friendsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Hotel
639 Water Street, Friendsville, MD 21531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendsville B&B and Inns
Reisterstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A really relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riverside a year or so ago. I still remember our stay very fondly. It was so relaxing. My wife and I dozed in the hammock by the river and read to one another. The salads and the home made salad dressing and the soups were so good. We haven't had any better since, we always compare any salad we eat to the ones we had there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for the words and my husband and I do the same comparisons when we are forced to eat out. Fresh picked salads just can't be beat! Hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I frequently stay at the Riverside as it is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. It is right next to the Upper Youghiogheny River and at night you can hear the water flow by. The hotel is restored and modernized, everything is spotless and Agnes and Mike are great. No TV's (which I like), but they have wireless Internet. You can get stuffed on the vegan soups, homemade bread and salads they prepare for dinner. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks Dave for always staying with us and having dinner. It's a pleasure having return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Agnes and Mike have created a very warm, inviting spot for relaxing. The location is picturesque, the house is very nicely kept and the food is terrific. We were comfortable immediately - the atmosphere is so relaxed. Step out of the mainstream and spend a weekend in Friendsville. Sit on the front porch and watch the river ease by in some of the prettiest country around. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We look forward to your return Ned. Come see the fall colors peak in a few weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,Va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A friend and I were doing the Barn Quilt trail through Garrett County and love to try wee local places off the beaten path. We usually stay at bed and breakfasts, but decided The Riverside Hotel filled the bill perfectly. (there is a cafe next door that has delicious organically-oriented quiches, sandwiches, etc.)

The inn sits across a narrow road from the take-out end of the Youghiogheny River, a world famous, class 5 whitewater river that starts about 10 miles upstream. When the dam gates are opened, kayakers come from all over to experience the rush. We arrived at the end of one such run. By the next day, the Youghiogheny had returned to it's slow paced rock-strewn self.

The Riverside Hotel is about 100 years old and the rooms are up a moderately steep flight of stairs - not nearly as steep as those in many similar-era places we've stayed though. We had a suite of two rooms and a large private bath. Normally the "suite" is a bedroom with a queen bed, a sitting room a few steps away, a the bathroom a few more steps from there...you do have to exit your room to use the bathroom, but it is your private bath. The sitting room has a hide-a-bed that I used. Not the most comfortable at first, until i rolled into the middle, then all was just right. My friend said her bed was very comfortable.

What amazed us the most was it was a full house on a Friday night, with the cozy little vegetarian restaurant downstairs doing a good business....but it was so quiet. By 10 pm we heard no noise at all.

We had already had dinner by the time we arrived, but enjoyed some wonderful homemade blueberry pie. Even brought some home for hubby who said it was some of the best he'd ever had. (Really surprised the pie made it for the 4-hour drive home....tempting to munch along the way!)

The Riverside Hotel seems to specialize in huge bowls of vegetarian soups - corn chowder, potato soup, and vegetarian chili were the offerings while we were there. Salads and dessert round out the meal for about $12 total. It also seems to draw a friendly local crowd for dinner.

There are no TVs, but if you must be plugged in, the free Wi-Fi worked fine. We had a wee refrig and a microwave in one of our rooms. If we're in the area again, we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have children, or are n a gal trip like we were, ask for the suite at the top right of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes L, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the thorough review of our home. It's always a delight to read about our "first timers" experience:) Hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My daughter and I spent a long weekend at Riverside Hotel. The owners were wonderful. Our rooms were on the upper floor facing the river. At night the cool breeze and rushing water sounds were so relaxing. Our meals were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The Riverside Hotel is located in Friendsville, beside the Youghiogheny river. The hotel is more like a B&B. The exception being that breakfast is not served. Instead, dinner is served nightly. The dinner is all organic and is composed of vegetarian and vegan meals. The dinner consists of fresh bread, soups, and salads; most of the ingredients are grown behind the hotel. The food is fantastic and filling; this is coming from a guy that loves steaks. The rooms are tidy, rustic, and comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed spending quiet evenings by the river, watching the lightning bugs dance.

The owners are friendly and knowledgeable of the area. There are plenty of activities to keep busy with, if you enjoy the outdoors. I would strongly recommend the Riverside Hotel as a great way to get your feet wet in Western Maryland.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 639 Water Street, Friendsville, MD 21531
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Friendsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer riverfront and garden view rooms along the Youghiogheny River.It's a charming, rustic style inn where you can get away from life and enjoy yourself and nature. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list