We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Sunday evening at Herrington Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Herrington Harbour

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friendship
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Herrington Harbour
Save
You added The Inn at Herrington Harbour to your Saves list
7161 Lake Shore Drive, Rt. 261, Rose Haven, Friendship, MD 20714   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Edgewater, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic Sunday evening at Herrington Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are experienced boaters and have traveled to the lovey place for day tripping for the past 10 years. We have not ventured to dock overnight but this time, we planned things differently. We reserved an overnight dock slip and a room with a hot tub. What an amazing experience we had! Every person we came into contact with truly cared about giving us the best service. From the dock help who expected our arrival, to the check in attendant at the Harbor Master office and the Inn office, we were treated as royalty. We live in Edgewater, Md but it felt that we were in a tropical resort and my colleagues in Northern Virginia are envious and planning their own "staycation". Thank you for a wonderful experience and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Bus_Dir, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We were delighted that you were able to enjoy the Marina and the Inn and all the amenities of our wonderful resort on the Chesapeake Bay. Thank you for letting your friends know we're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for two nights while researching spots for our June 2014 wedding. From Philadelphia, we are in our 30s, well traveled, and generally look for accommodations that are in good locations and a good value (but without sacrificing some of the “good stuff” that makes taking a vacation worthwhile).

We stayed in a standard room with a queen bed, #33. It was at the back right of the complex, and I would not recommend it as you are the furthest from the bay front and nearest to the ice/vending machines and the back parking lot used by the maintenance crew. Overall, the room was a little dated—mint green walls and dorm-like furniture. It was spacious, though, and clean, and included a small fridge which was a nice touch. The air conditioning worked well. There were, however, numerous flies CONSTANTLY in the room—it seemed an issue all over this area, in fact, as everywhere we went (inside!) there were flies buzzing about. The mattress was firm (perhaps a bit too much so). They had large flat-screen TVs mounted in the rooms but no HD.

While on the property, we spent most of the time lounging under the small palapa-like umbrellas on the small (!!) bay front “beach”. The sand was definitely trucked in, the orange-y stuff mostly used at construction sites. There was a summer camp of sorts going on, so it was a big noisy as the kids played relay races and got sailing lessons nearby, but overall, it was peaceful. It definitely seems it would be nice for a family, with the sheltered swimming area and plentiful aquatic vessels to be used (like paddle boats and kayaks.).

We did not use the pool, as it was VERY crowded. We did eat at both on-site restaurants: Mango’s was just average – limited beer list and standard mid-level beach pub food. We both ordered salads, and they were large in portion and average in flavor/freshness. The “breakfast” included in the room fee included very limited selections at the deli across the street – for example, a small yogurt and a bruised apple with a bottle of OJ. We ended up skipping it the next morning.

The staff was cordial enough, but we did not interact with them beyond checking in and out. The maids were friendly and did a fine job.

There isn't much to do (if you don’t own a boat) in the area: We tried a few of the local restaurants in nearby North and Chesapeake Beaches—nothing blew us away. The boardwalk and “beach” are nice enough, but definitely nothing I’d drive more than five minutes to visit again. They are also quite costly to use!

Overall, I would not recommend this inn to friends, nor would I likely return to this location in the near future.

Room Tip: Avoid #33 as it is near the ice/vending machines and the parking lot used by maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will become better because of it. Our Marina Resort is rurally located, therefore, we offer a quiet and laid back experience. I hope my comments below offer some clarity to items you mentioned.
1. Your guestroom was located at a busy point on the property. Our maintenance crew was completing a new walkway that adjoins new docks to the parking lot. The activity you experienced is not normal and resulted in a beautifully landscaped path.
2. Of the guestrooms and suites located at our beachfront, the furthest walk to the beach , through our landscaped courtyards, is 150 feet.
3. Experiencing bugs of various shapes and sizes throughout the year is not unusual at the beach. During your stay the flies, were, unfortunately, out in force.
4. Having just visited exotic very hot black volcanic beaches, sharp coral beaches, rocky beaches, gray slate slippery beaches, and large pebbly sand beaches, I find our soft, yet firm, sandy beach quite pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Maryland for a wedding and were fortunate enough to find this gem to stay at. The Inn at Herrington Harbor is on the Chesapeake Bay and has great ambiance. The grounds were beautiful and we could see both the sunrise and sunset from this location. The beach was nice, there were kayaks to use, a large swimming pool, a beautiful walking path that’s about ¾ of a mile one way, an abundance of wildlife to view, and a great bar and grill.
We stayed in one of the standard rooms and while the room was dated, the rest of the establishment is outstanding. Our room was clean and a comfortable size, we had a little fridge and microwave, a big screen TV and internet access. The bathroom was small with a very dated sink and shower...but it was clean. Only one person can use the space at a time and there’s no room to put much on the sink. The outlet near the table needs to be replaced as plugs kept falling out and power was intermittent. This aside, we’d definitely go back because we enjoyed the rest of the environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Plans are being reviewed to restructure our guestrooms. It will be fun to see what we do next as we are always upgrading our rooms and suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing 3-night mid-winter getaway at the Inn at Herrington Harbour. The hot tub was relaxing, the room was nice and bright, we hooked up the TV to our laptop to watch movies, which was great, and the fridge worked well. You could tell that there was great attention to landscaping in the summer, and that the grounds are very well maintained. The beach and marina looked very nice, but aside from short walks around the area, we did not use them.

For what they charge, I would expect more from the continental breakfast (at least some fruit, maybe some yogurt - something that's not a complex carb). And the attention to our room was not on par with hotels that cost even half of what we paid. The bed was made each day, and towels were replaced, but the bathroom was not wiped down, much less cleaned. Our hot tub was not checked daily. We had a few issues with our hot tub - one day it lost 1 foot of water over night/through the day, and another evening, it shut down 3 times while we were using it. When notified of an issue, however, they were very quick to respond, and very apologetic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. In response, you should know that we are taking steps to add fresh fruit/yogurt/hard boiled eggs and bacon, egg, and chesse sandwiches to our breakfast offerings. I regret and apologize for your room not being cleaned thoroughly and wish we could have corrected that for you during your visit. Sometimes hot tubs do strange things that we cannot anticipate, I am glad we could correct those issues for you. We do remember you and were glad you were our guests. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a belated THANK YOU to The Inn for making our July wedding such a special event! Our 10 rooms for the Brennan-Oberholzer wedding were fantastic and everyone had such a fun time! We were in the Shoreline and Chesapeake suites and couldn't have asked for betteer accommodations!! We especially loved our steam shower, big beds with unique furnishings throughout and the in-ceiling speakers to keep the party going after the wedding. Oh, and who doesn't like a good coffee from the Keurig in each suite!? The staff never batted an eye that we were a same sex couple either - which was a huge relief! The Friday before the big day was spent lounging at the pool with some of our guests. The food was just perfect and a few guests even got a massage. Don't forget to take pictures as sunsets and picturesque moments appear quite often! Visit downtown Chesapeake Beach for some amazing shopping (antique central!) and food and a lovely boardwalk to stroll down.

We highly recommend the Inn for your special weekend get-a-way or the wedding of your dreams!!

Room Tip: Water facing is GREAT! Try the off season - too! A very special, peaceful place to be no matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for posting pictures with it. We are so glad you and your guests had such a great time. We hope you'll visit soon - your July anniversary is not that far away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just had a wedding there. Beautiful back drop for a wedding. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Avoid Mangos bar. Locals start fights with out of towers. Only plemish on a perfect weekend. The bar staff sided with the local guys who told us they didn't want out of towers in there bar. Very sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Herrington Harbour is pleased that you selected our site for your wedding venue and for your accommodations. Congratulations! Our restaurant, Mango's, offers live music and drinks, serving as a fun way for many diverse guests to top off their evening. It is unfortunate that you were involved in a rare disapgreement. Our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Oh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a great place to visit on the East Coast, not far from DC and he found Herrington Harbor - it was an excellent find! The location is beautiful and very close to DC, though you feel many miles away. We stayed in a King, Hot Tub room and I would recommend the extra money to enjoy the Hot Tub (though it was super hot!). The rooms were clean and well-kept with a fridge and microwave. A small continental breakfast is provided to guests as well as use of kayaks, paddle boards, etc.
The Inn is an eco-resort and the ground are simply stunning! Though there were too many jelly fish to enjoy the Bay, they have a great Olympic size pool and on-premise restaurant (Mango's). There is a also a walking trail around the Marina. Our one small complaint was the pool service from the restaurant (poor, selective) - but not sure if the restaurant is owned by the Inn or not.

We thought we would leave to visit Annapolis and other areas, but just stayed at the Inn the entire time except a small trip to check-out North Beach (not a lot there). The staff were very friendly and the whole place has a quaint and warm ambience. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Get a Hot Tub room - though be cautioned - they are super hot, get a few bags of ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddiho, Manager at The Inn at Herrington Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for being our guests. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our many amenities. It has been a great year to walk our grounds - they are flourishing. We hope that you will be able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Herrington Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Herrington Harbour

Address: 7161 Lake Shore Drive, Rt. 261, Rose Haven, Friendship, MD 20714
Location: United States > Maryland > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront Inn, with Chesapeake BAYFRONT AND BAYVIEW Guestrooms, was built in the 1950's Big Band Swing Era, accommodating guests from steamships arriving from Washington, D.C., Baltimore, and Annapolis, MD. The historic architecture of the Inn has been carefully preserved to offer you a relaxing, rejuvenating experience on the Chesapeake Bay. Transport yourself to a time of graceful living while enjoying your front porch rocking chair. Take a stroll through our beautifully landscaped gardens to access your Guestroom or to roam the Private Beach. Maybe an invigorating work-out at the gym, a sauna, a match of tennis, or a kayak excursion fits your pace. Whatever your pleasure, we welcome you as our guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herrington Harbour Hotel Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Herrington Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.