We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Rocky Gap enjoyed by 4 generations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rocky Gap Casino Resort to your Saves list
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poquoson, Virginia
1 review
“Great trip to Rocky Gap enjoyed by 4 generations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great facility. Perfect for multigenerational groups. Lakeside restaurant went above and beyond to accommodate our group of 11 celebrating a 75th birthday and 50th wedding anniversary. Overall, we had a fun and relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    282
    100
    42
    40
See reviews for
163
374
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Rocky Gap Casino Resort for the weekend. It was Great. From the check in to the check out and everything in between was nice. People were very nice and wanted to help in whatever way they could. When we pulled up to check in, there were people there to take your bags and valet park your car at no charge. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at Rocky Gap Casino. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to providing you with more excellent guest service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family recently enjoyed a long weekend stay at Rocky Gap Resort. We are long time, repeat visitors who had not visited in the last 18 months. We were interested to see how the addition of a casino and new management would impact our experience.

Overall, we were very pleased. While there were some rough edges due to the recent upgrades and renovations, overall the changes are and will be a big improvement. Our room was essentially the same as we found rooms before, but with upgraded TV and Audio as well as a brand new sleeper sofa. The room and bathroom, although basic and somewhat rustic, were clean and comfortable. However, we found the pillows to be overly flat and lacking in quality.

Customer service has definitely improved throughout the resort. Despite it being a busy holiday weekend and sold out for our first night, the resort did not seem overly crowded and service did not suffer. The staff seemed more pleasant, efficient and upbeat. We had a slight disappointment with our room, in that we booked a lakeside suite (large room, fireplace, jacuzzi tub, etc.) more than a month in advance. We were called the day before our visit to be told our room was not available for our stay (no explanation why). The manager offered us a junior suite at a reduced rate. It was nice of her to accomodate us with a discount, but still disappointing.

Food in all the restaurants has improved particularly in the grill near the pool/pro shop. The table service at all of our dining was fast and polite. The quality of the food served has improved as well.

We did not find the casino to be a downside. Despite changes to the lobby that take the resort in a new theme direction, away from rustic wilderness lodge, to rural casino, we found the casino to be reasonable from a noise perspective. It was clean and not too crowded. It's a non-smoking facility which is nice, and the ambiance was pleasant and uncrowded. They have a variety of slots and table games, but a comparatively small number of table games. All the casino staff that we interacted with were polite and enthusiastic. There were some glitches in that quite a few of the cash machines were not working, but it was opening weekend for the casino, so certainly understandable.

Our kids were happy with the resort activities that were mostly the same as in the past, although not managed by Western Maryland Adventures (sic). Lots of rental boats (new boats) and bikes as well as fishing and other water activities. There were good food choices for kids as well.

Overall we were pleased and will look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake for the best views. Breakfast at peak times can mean a short wait for sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are not gamblers but opted to stay at this resort because it was convenient to our family reunion. Situated on a lake in the state park, the resort offers (for a small charge) mountain bikes, kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, sail boat and I think I saw a couple of small motor boats for fishing. One side of the resort is the lake and the other side is a large golf course that looked very active. Near by are a couple of beaches and lots of campgrounds but they don't interfere with the resort experience at all. The casino is directly off to the left as you walk into the lobby so you get all the casino noises as soon as you walk in which I did not like but managed to ignore. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our king bed was very comfortable and the room over looking the golf course was clean and neat. We only tried the food from the lobby Munch and Go and found it fair. We enjoyed ourselves and would return another time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family had vacations at Rocky Gap Resort several times a year in the past six years. It was such a quiet and peaceful place, great for families that love outdoor activities. We recently spent a weekend there and were shocked to see their business focus is now the casino. All the art work on the wall from the local artists was gone. The white board in the lobby that was used to announce the activities for children and weather forecast (in a cute, old-fashioned way) was gone. Instead, as soon as you walk inside the front door, you see two big ATM machines and the flashing lights from the casino. The quietness has been replaced with all kinds of noises from the casino...24 hours non-stop.

The casino and the ambiance created by the mountain and the lake are controversial. They could have put the casino somewhere else instead of inside the resort just to ruin everything. It is sad and ridiculous. My family are not planning on going back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you are considering not returning to Rocky Gap Casino. Please keep in mind that we do still offer several outdoor activities such as bike rentals (for adults and children), boat rentals, paddle boards, and fishing gear. Also, a Front Desk employee can assist you with activities in the surrounding area that would be fun for families. I do hope you will give the Resort a second chance and visit again in the future as we continue to develop new ways to serve all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lakefront property is beautiful and adjacent to State Park, canoes and paddle boats
available, great spots to read and relax by the lake, room clean and above average, staff nice but obvious a lot of newer folks, gambling casino is small, limited table games, pool and spa are good-food is average- not a lot of choices close off site, stay away from buffets....

Room Tip: higher rooms are better- get lakefront if avialable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Rocky Gap Casino Resort and thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the buffet - we are always striving to improve the quality of our food & beverage offerings to enhance our guests experience. If you would like to provide me with more details, please email info@rockygapcasino.com. Thank you and I hope you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are horrible .... the hallway stunk like rotten dirty clothes ... the patio is a joke .... barely non existant immenities ... room was dirty ... water stains on ceiling ... mildew in bathroom ... overall this was a horrible place .... DO NOT STAY THERE ... visit the casino and stay in Cumberland .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I apologize for your experience at our hotel; however, I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we have been undergoing upgrades to all of our sleeping room and amenities throughout the Resort so that we can make it more enjoyable and comfortable for our guests. I encourage you visit us again and check out the new renovations that have occurred since your stay in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Gap Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.