We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be Beautiful in the Fall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Save Saved
You added Rocky Gap Casino Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Flintstone
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must be Beautiful in the Fall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My stay was brief, but enjoable. Clearly, it was off seson since my room was under $100. A casino is on its way and many renovations are underway. Since they are now under new management, pets are no longer allowed, despite their advertisements. I found this to be a disapppointment. I only had breakfast and thought it was just okay. I plan on coming back with a group of people. I would like to experience the views, golf, and spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    239
    89
    39
    35
See reviews for
147
301
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling WV
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The lodge is still terrific as is the restaurant. In the throes of renovation for yet another casino property which is unusual to me as it's in a State Park. Hopefully, it won't ruin the family atmosphere it now enjoys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had stayed here prior, but wanted to stay in Cumberland due to business there. However, as the priceline accommodation I got at the Cumberland holiday inn was not suitable for a dog, I stayed at Rocky Gap. Always good here. Plenty of activities, from boating to nature walks, to lakeside campfire, complete with marshmallows. Food and beer selections and quality are good. Highly recommended for any purpose. I'm kind of afraid to see them change to a casino , though. Hope the quality does not go down with this move.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

great hotel!family friendly, great food, indoor pool, beautiful beach on a lake, charming mountain scenery, golf , spa and great staff!
we have visited many times and continue to go back !local things to do , hiking, bicycleing, watersports, playground, close to other attractions but far enough away to be peaceful and have some tranquility, good for families to spend time together away from the hussle and bustle of every day life!

Room Tip: ask for one facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found this hotel on Expedia while looking for a Courtyard hotel. Since there is almost nothing out there in the woods I was happy to find this little gem. It is a golf resort in the process of becoming a Casino as well. They are still renovating but managed to stay very clean in the process. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, ok food at the bar downstairs. Good value for the price!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room, otherwise you'll be looking at the generator or the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at Rocky Gap with a friend for a weekend getaway. I enjoyed the beautiful scenery - i.e. mountains and lake. For a few extra bucks,request a room overlooking the lake. Trust me, it will be worth your while. The hotel staff was friendly and I enjoyed the family friendly environment. I went at an off peak time and was very happy with the lack of crowds.

There are great activities for everyone in the family - there is a pool and sauna and workout room (they desperately need a fan or AC because it was like a sauna in there!), there is a great bar, and hiking trails available nearby.

The rooms were clean and modern, although I believed that the bathrooms were not too great. Still, I believe that for the amount you are paying, you are getting a lot. The atmosphere at Rocky Gap is relaxing, warm, and comfortable. I think the prices are reasonable and the accommodations are less than perfect, although it is not like it is a luxury hotel. I had to remind myself that a few times as I found two stinkbugs in my room.

I would have to recommend the hotel but NOT THE SPA!! I hear that the massages are great, but my friend got two manicures - both peeled off, cost over $40.00 and was not able to get a refund.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The views were great. The food was good. We had a very relaxing time there and would go back again. I would recommend this hotel to couples and families, there is plenty to do. A lake...campground nearby, golf, tennis and basketball...also hiking.

Room Tip: We got a great rate through living social deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Gap Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.