We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice retreat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rocky Gap Casino Resort to your Saves list
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very nice retreat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed at the Rocky Gap Lodge recently for a business meeting. It probably wasn't the best time of year, but the view of the lake was still very nice.

The Lodge lobby is beautiful and very relaxing and the conference staff were excellent. I found the front desk staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.

I think this would be a great place to take a family for a weekend or to have a romantic getaway.

My only negative comments are that the restaurant staff were extraordinarily slow and inattentive (but the food was great) and housekeeping in the room could have been improved.

Otherwise this was a very nice facility, with great staff and a wonderful ambience.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    282
    100
    42
    40
See reviews for
164
375
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Every year we meet my 'ol college roommate and her husband for a weekend get-a-way. This place is perfect. It has everything you need., all in one spot. There are bikes to rent, 5 miles of trails around the lake to walk, boating, a beach, a spa, pool, and other outdoor activities. The food is not bad... buffets for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. (You can also order from the menu.) The rooms are clean, large and seem to be recently updated. The staff is VERY friendly, attentive and want to make your stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Liked — Ammenities
  • Disliked — Indoor pool area was not eye appealing.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We had an absolute blast at Rocky Gap. Our room was great. Yes, it was basic, but the rate of $139/night was perfect for a holiday weekend. The bed was comfy, the view of the lake and mountain from our room was beautiful. The hike around the lake was a great workout and a good time. The food was decent, but overpriced. The drinks were strong and reasonably priced. At the end of the day, when the sun goes down and being outdoors is no longer an option (although the lakeside fire was nice), all that's left to do is eat and drink, which is expensive to do at Rocky Gap.

  • Liked — Location, scenery
  • Disliked — Overpriced food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet but not luxurious. The lobby & common areas were cozy & nice, but not impressive. The scenery is gorgeous & the trails were lovely. The rooms have some incredible views.
The food was not bad, but not delicious. It also seemed overpriced for what it was.
The staff were helpful & abundant, despite the small number of guests.
The off-season price was right, too.
We had a very quiet, enjoyable weekend. I would recommend this hotel to others looking to escape the city, but not expecting anything fancy.

  • Liked — view, room rate
  • Disliked — furnishings were a little basic, food was overpriced
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

I LOVE this hotel. The hotel is just off the highway and is an oasis about 2 hours from DC. The resort sits on a great golf course, and is in Rocky Gap State Park. It looks like a Mountain Cabin on a grand scale, with great amenities and you can either get a room overlooking the lake or the golf course. The staff is helpful, and breakfast is served in the restaurant with Lake views, gorgeous. The lake is a jewel. There are no power boats, so it is extremely quiet, and great for the family. You can hike, bike ride, or swim. There are two beaches at the lake, one with sand, so it isn't muddy, the other is so take your pick. Flinstone is just out side of Cumberland and Lavale. This is a great spot for a peaceful time with friends, or family. I go every year and I am still in love. Best of all, NO SHARKS!

  • Liked — Great accomodations, great setting, great Lake
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

My company decided to have a leadership retreat at Rocky Gap. The location is just awesome. The hotel has a lot of potential. The rooms are very clean, but a bit outdated. I have to say my room was spotless and I am a clean freak. However, you could clearly see they carefully placed furniture to cover ripped wallpaper and major scuff marks along the walls. The food at the hotel is good, not gourmet but certainly good. The staff gives excellent service. I would return again. I just hope for the sake of their long term business planning they consider some updating in the near future.

  • Liked — The scenery and location.
  • Disliked — Rooms outdated.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

The setting is beautiful, in a state park, and it was opening day for deer hunters! All hiking trails north of the lodge were not "safe". The rooms were nice, with great views of the lake and bald eagles. Food is expensive and not worth the elevated prices, wine list is ok. Golf was great, really liked the layout until #17, third par 3 on the back 9 and followed par 3 #16. Golf cart died and carried 2 bags to finish, not what i expected. The spa is hurting and needs an overhaul, massages were like oily rubs, minus pressure...The aviary was awesome with several injured owls, red-tailed hawk and black vulture. I would return to play golf, if i were in the area or traveling through...i don't think it will be anytime soon.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Road NE, Flintstone, MD 21530 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Location: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Gap Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.