We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for romantic dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Restaurant

Lakeside Restaurant
16701 Lakeview Rd, NE, Flintstone, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Flintstone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the same building as Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for romantic dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The view of the lake from Lakeside restaurant is amazing at any time of day. We enjoyed their crab cakes, the filet, and a very nice bottle of wine from their extensive wine list. The waffles and french toast at breakfast is also worth the stop!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Eggs Benedict overlooked, fruit as hard as a rock, hash browns so dry they were only edible with ketchup

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flat out AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went here for our valentines get away. We purchased a 3 course meal for each of us that came with the room. I'm assuming it was a package deal. We called as soon as we got there to make dinner reservations and they said they didn't have any openings until 930 :o( But, then he said if we could be there by 5 he could make sure we got a table! So, we made it there by and sat at a smaller table, but we understood that. The view of the lake was gorgeous! We both ordered our 3 courses and some wine. The food was amazing and beautifully presented. The service was also wonderful. Our server was playful and not stuffy at all. The service team worked together to make sure our glasses were always full and our plates were cleared soon after we were finished. They also had a buffet going on. Apparently Friday nights they have a seafood buffet, Saturdays they have a prime rib buffet, and Sunday nights they have an Italian buffet. So, I'm guessing we will be having Italian tonight! A must do!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to Pucinni's on Rt. 68”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Had expected to dine at Pucinni's on our way to Deep Creek, but they were packed (must have been a Christmas party). So we backtracked up the mountain one exit and gave Rocky Gap SP a try. It was a fortunate "detour", and we will certainly be back. The Lakeside restaurant was almosty empty when we arrived about 8 on a Thursday night. But the food and service were a pleasant surprise. I had the Lobster and Crab Bisque soup and it was great. The entrees are a little pricey, so we all had sandwiches (Chicken, Crabcake, and veggie burger) which everyone thought were very good. The bread they brought before the meal was fresh and very very good. Ordered a bottle of wine and somehow ended up with Cabernet when we'd ordered something else, but the two "dry" wine lovers thought that was just fine. The view is probably spectacular when it's not dark out :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The breakfast buffet was very good! Normal selection but well attended and replenished.

The rest of our party ordered off the menu (omelets, bagels and lochs, etc) and also said their food was very enjoyable.

There is a lovely view of the lake from the restaurant and while we were there in the 'off season' - when the leaves are changing this would be even more spectacular I am sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.