We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Great Food, Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Restaurant

Lakeside Restaurant
16701 Lakeview Rd, NE, Flintstone, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Flintstone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the same building as Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort
Delaware
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Great Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at RGS&R for 4 days & looked forward to the all you can eat buffet. We ate there every morning & every evening. The view overlooking the lake was so relaxing...even when it was raining. The service was a bit slow but when they came to your table they were very nice, helpful & attentive. We didn't order off the menu because it was expensive and the selection wasn't that great. Our favorites on the buffet were the pot roast, turkey tettrazini, carved roast beef, omlet bar, stuffed flounder, peel & eat shrimp & steamed veggies. If you have a child 10 or under they eat free. My daughter was 11 so we had to pay half price for her (which was a bit steep because she doesn't eat that much). I think the dinner buffet was $25.99 & the breakfast buffet was $14.99. We don't do this very often so we splurged. The prices on the menu were very close to the prices on the buffet so it didn't make sense ordering off the menu anyway. It gets really busy after 6:30pm so you will need a reservation if you like eating late. We like to eat at 5-5:30 and the restaurant only had about 5 other tables at that time. We enjoyed having the buffet all to ourselves :). Can't wait to go back! Lemme know if you thought this review was helpful by clicking the YES button below. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Postcard view. Excellent service. Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our table overlooked the lake and the view was fabulous as the sun set. Just beautiful. When we made our reservation an hour before, I had a senior moment and never gave them our name! But the staff took the name from the caller id on the phone. When we arrived, we were seated at a great spot to enjoy the view as we dined. That's great customer service, making up for our error.
The seafood buffet was very good. The sous-chef preparing the made-to-order stir fry specialized in vegan, gluten-free and allergy specific diets. While I didn't need that expertise, it was nice that the restaurant recognizes that people with food issues deserve to have made-to-order food that meets their needs and is tastes very good. My stir fry was excellent, wonderfully spiced. The spices didn't overhwelm the delicate tastes of the scallops, shrimp and mussels.
All the buffet food was good. Seconds were definitely part of the meal.
All in all, it was a great experience after a long drive. We were treated well with a fine meal in a great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburg, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ate 5 meals here and all were outstanding. Service was good too. Would eat here again even it just passing by.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and no options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great views and friendly service but overpriced. And my Lobster Bisque was a ripoff. The pot roast looked good though but that was the cheapest entree on the menu and it was 26.00! C'mon...for pot roast? And I think I recalled a crab cake platter for over 30.00 ?? !! Jeeesh....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We took a break from campfire cooking and went to the Rocky Gap Lodge for dinner. My husband enjoyed the Seafood Buffet, I chose to order off the menu and selected the Filet Mignon with perfectly cooked asparagus and baked potato. They are one of the few restaurants that serve warm bread anymore--a delicious multigrain selection. Our server, Shannon, was chariming. The food was very good and the view of the lake was spectacular. A lovely evening. There were several families present, guests of the Lodge, and they all seemed content as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.