We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money and the star level, this hotel is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Silo Hill Pkwy., Emmitsburg, MD 21727   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Philly
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For the money and the star level, this hotel is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here as a more cost effective option for a last minute trip to Gettysburg and it was a good choice. It was about 11 minutes (10 miles) from the Gettysburg Visitor's Center. It was not congested or touristy like the hotels in Gettysburg.

It is a Sleep Inn, which is not a fancy hotel. For the money, the hotel was awesome. The rooms were very clean and were not outdated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a continental breakfast, which was great, since it was free. There is a small pool and workout room. Parking was plentiful and well-light.

We stayed on the first floor which is at the level of the parking lot and did not have any trouble sleeping.

There was minor construction overnight. We heard nothing and only knew about it because we checked in late.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    49
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stopped here, driving back to Virginia from Lancaster. We did alot that day, and were tired so we'll looked up the closest hotel to where we were on the road. Found this place in this small college town in Maryland.
We had never stayed in a Sleep inn, so we were a little apprehensive. But, upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is tucked away on a back road, a little hard to find even though it's right off of US-15. We arrived late, about 8pm. So we didn't use the indoor pool or the business center. We checked in to our King room, and found it was rather well appointed for the price. Decent TV, very fast wireless internet, good size fridge, pretty comfy bed. The only negative in the room itself was that the bathroom :"door" was a sliding kind, that was hard to open and close.
Upon waking the next day, we had requested and received a late checkout at noon. However,at about 11am, there was a knock at the door. The housekeeper had decided to ignore the "do not disturb" sign. I told her to come back later, as we had a late checkout. She either didn't understand me or didn't care, and then tried to open the door, and despite the dead bolt beings turned, she was able to open the door, a little. I had to forcibly push the door closed, as we were not dressed. I had to yell at her to go way, before she finally did.
Other than that, one bad experience we had a otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed at the Sleep Inn in Emmitsburg, MD while we were visiting Gettysburg. It was just an easy 15 minute drive from the Battlefield and historic downtown area. The room was basic but clean and quiet. The pool is indoor and small but my daughter loved being able to swim anytime, rain or shine, night or day. Complimentary continental breakfast (bagels, cereals, etc.) was fine and the dining room was clean. There were several places to eat nearby and also a grocery store. We ate at Chubby's barbeque one night - very casual and inexpensive - HUGE portions. At the other end of the spectrum was The Carriage House Restaurant - more expansive and expensive menu - excellent food and service but pricey. There was even a multiplex movie theater in nearby Gettysburg. This hotel was less expensive than the places I checked in Gettysburg. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay at the end of the day in Gettysburg, but everywhere in town I checked was filled up. We found this hotel just down the road in Emmitsburg and they not only had a room for us, but an indoor pool and a reasonable price. It is on the same side of Gettysburg as the battlefield, so you don't have to go through the town of Gettysburg to get to the National Park Visitors Center. As a result, I don't think it takes much longer to get there from this hotel than from some hotels in Gettysburg. The pool and the rooms were small - we only had a shower, no tub - but I would stay here again if I were visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I recently stayed overnight before attending a quilt retreat in the area. The front deskman was friendly and suggested I check out the grocery store and picnic tables for something to eat. I loved that there was a grocery store, gas station, and Mcdonalds so close to the hotel. It was easy on and off of route 15 as I checked out Emmitsburg and did some geocaching in the area. It was quiet since the hotel is set back off the road. The room was average, the typical Sleep Inn room. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Sleep Inn outside of Emmitsburg is located right next to US 15 and about 20 minutes south of Gettysburg Battlefield. It is a newer hotel and state of the art for this brand. My room had a slick shower (no tub) and plenty of room, with everything in good shape as befits a hotel of such recent vintage. The inside corridors, lobby,and breakfast room are all well designed and maintained. Front desk staff was a bit detached and added nothing to what otherwise would have been a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevator, which is located at the far eastern end of the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a good value hotel. It has a small gym and pool and reasonable rooms. The rates were very reasonable. Breakfast was basic, and was included in the price, but be prepared to eat off styrofoam plates and use plastic knives and forks. I would prefer to pay a few dollars a more a night to have china and proper flatware. Not just because it's nicer, but because I don't feel comfortable aboiut the environmental consequences of creating more trash.

Room Tip: discounts available if you are attending a local .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg

Address: 501 Silo Hill Pkwy., Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Emmitsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg Hotel Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn And Suites Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn Emmitsburg
Emmitsburg Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Hotel Emmitsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.