We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay - nice room and excellent staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Residence Inn Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Last minute stay - nice room and excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After 12 hours of driving on 95 and more waiting in traffic than we care to remember, decided to stay overnight 'nearby' while waiting for another accident to clear. Had a marriott reward for a cat 1-4 hotel and this was a category 3 so stopped in at 8pm and asked about availability.
Charles at the front desk was so patient and nice. Took 15 minutes for a marriott customer service rep to get the reservation done and he took it from there and had us settled in a few minutes.
Room was exceedingly clean.... Property nicely taken care of. There is a Bob Evans that shares a parking lot and otherwise seems like a very quiet area. The hotel was bustling for a sat night but room was quiet and the perfect comfy bed to recharge for another 4 hours of driving the next day.
Checkout took less than a minute and we were on our way. Happy with our choice and would absolutely stay here again when passing through!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
14
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here on a work outing and the room was perfect for what I needed it for. It had a bed, a desk, a bathroom, a window, a TV, and free breakfast and WiFi!

I always stay at Marriott locations. I feel that they offer the best promotions and have more locations where I need them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Manager at Residence Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank for takig the time to review our hotel. Please come back if you are ever back in the area.

Best regards,

Joel Shasteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you don't use the telephone in the room. The charge of the phone calls you make is horrendously high. They should have put a big sign on the phone warning hotel guests what the costs are of a phone call. The lady at the front desk, wasn't helpful either when I asked her about it. Not very customer oriented. Unbelievable that hotel makes such a large profit on the use of the phone. I can't believe that Marriot and Residence Inn accept this.

For the rest hotel is ok. Nothing special. Didn't have a curtain in the bedroom when we checked in with two cranky tired little kids after an 8 hour flight. It took the staff over an hour to get a curtain hung up. They didn't provide us with another room.

Breakfast was good, light dinners were very disappointing and not good value. Won't stay here again, too expensive for waht you get.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Manager at Residence Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I hope your travels in the Northeast went well. I do apologize for the lack of communication that you experienced while utilizing our telephone system in regards to the Marriott policies with Long Distance Phone Charges. Please accept our apologies for any other customer service failures that you had, we will continue to work with our staff to improve consistence and quality. If you have any question please feel free to reach out to us again.

Best regards,

Joel Shasteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my first experience with a Residence Inn. This property is located about 20 minutes outside of Baltimore. I went with my family and found this was really a pleasant stay. It was ideal for us, because, we were in the area for a quick trip to Baltimore, but we didn't want to pay city rates. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was enough room for us. The room was clean and well kept. The front staff was incredibly helpful and was able to answer our numerous questions. There is a pool, tennis courts and outside sitting area for those who want to be outside.This would definitely be an ideal location for someone who has a car and wants to explore the greater Baltimore area. Otherwise, you probably need somewhere closer if you are in town to do the tourist thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

New and well kept Marriott Residence Inn. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful on check in. As it seems to have had a recent remodel everything seemed and smelled new. Rooms seemed well cleaned and not dusty. Enjoyed the free upgrade as a Marriott rewards user.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The beds in this hotel were so comfortable, a great nights sleep. The hotel is very well kept. There is a Bob Evans in the same parking lot and a breakfast at the hotel. The hotel location is a little confusing so just make sure to keep your eye out for hidden turns. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In Baltimore for training and my original hotel reservation was down the road. I found that place to be dark and with an unwelcome odor. After driving around and looking at other options, I walked into the lobby of this Residence Inn and had a welcoming feeling. The front desk representative was very helpful and even allowed me to be shown around prior to making a decision. She was very courteous and certainly able to find a place for me. I was happy with a Studio Queen and slept comfortably. All my needs were met or exceeded and I will definitely return to Residence Inn on future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia

Address: 4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbia Maryland hotel is located 12 miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and only thirty minutes to downtown Baltimore. This suburban Baltimore Maryland hotel allows easy access to Baltimore city's many attractions, including the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Orioles baseball at Camden Yards, Baltimore Ravens football and the National Aquarium. Designed for a stay of more than just a few nights, Residence Inn Columbia hotel guests can stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel Ellicott City
Residence Inn Ellicott City
Ellicott City Residence Inn
Columbia Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.