We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbia

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of Manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beware of the manager that has no knowledge of the difference between a service animal and an emotional support animal. This man kept insisting that I needed to show him a ADA "card" for my little dog, that is an emotional support dog, NOT a service animal (and was actually quite rude about it) I have all of the required documentation required for this, and have NEVER had a problem in the 7, yes SEVEN, years that I have had her. We have been all across the country... sometimes flying and sometimes driving... but have never had a problem until now, and we have stayed at more Marriotts than I can count! On the other hand, the front desk staff was really nice, and even went so far as to go into another room and get me some extra feather-free pillows since I only had one (out of five) to begin with. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
11
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I checked inn at this Residence inn and only stayed for one night. The room was larger then other Residence inn I have been in all over US. It's so perfect to fit the whole family. It comes with fully equiped kitchen, nice clean bathroom and breakfast is also included. The hotel is clean and up to date. There are restaurants within walking distance that shares the same parking lot, Bob Evans or something like that. The hotel is 20 mins from Baltimore and we picked this one over the Rennaisance because they charge too much for parking. I Loved it and I will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We went on line, and since we could not find our Marriott rewards number, called Marriott and got an even better deal, one on one.
We had a funeral in Baltimore, and chose to stay on the fringe where we hoped for a quiet spot that turned out to be situated in lovely surroundings as well. Our accommodations were comparable to a large studio apartment...sleeping area, full kitchen, and study/living area.; nicely decorated and comfortable. We requested a quiet location and were given one. Unfortunately, the "guests" above us came in during the early hours of morning, and were very loud and inconsiderate. Being a light sleeper, this was unpleasant. The full breakfast was more than expected. Service on all levels was up to the usual Marriott standards. Staying here was well worth the few miles out of Baltimore...We tried to reserve again for this week, but in this price range ,we were offered accommodations at Marriott's Spring Hill Suites, which I expect to be equally as good.

Room Tip: Tell them what you need....be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with young children. One bedroom suite was decent price for booking well in advance. Conveniently located close to BWI, and not a far drive from downtown Baltimore. Room was nice sized and having a stocked kitchen and fridge as well as 2 tvs was nice. The free breakfast was nicer than what these hotels usually have. All in all a fine stay with more amenities than usually seen at this price point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms and pleasant staff, but ask for a room away from the adjacent highway as the traffic noise is loud and never seemed to stop. The entrance (lobby area/check-in) is not easily identifiable from the road and it is easy to drive past. Some of the internal signage showing which rooms are down each of the hallways could be improved.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and were very pleased. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the full kitchen was great. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet. Everything was fresh and had quite a variety of items. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to our friends and family!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent about 8 days here on a business trip - working nights whilst I did so. They did a great job making up the room when I wasn't sleeping and took care to be quiet when I was. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was the usual Residence Inn food for breakfast, but my hours prevented me from partaking this time. I'll stay here again if I need to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a one-bedroom suite. I smidge nicer than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel Ellicott City
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel
Residence Inn Ellicott City
Ellicott City Residence Inn
Columbia Residence Inn
Address: 4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbia Maryland hotel is located 12 miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and only thirty minutes to downtown Baltimore. This suburban Baltimore Maryland hotel allows easy access to Baltimore city's many attractions, including the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Orioles baseball at Camden Yards, Baltimore Ravens football and the National Aquarium. Designed for a stay of more than just a few nights, Residence Inn Columbia hotel guests can stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.