We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Residence Inn Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with relatives and couldn't have been more pleased. The property is very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped though we really only used the fridge and microwave for popcorn. The staff at the desk were friendly and efficient. The breakfast staff kept everything refilled and neat. Right after we checked in I walked to the elevator to wait for my husband. A man with what appeared to be a laundry cart asked if I needed help. I told him I was waiting while my husband got the luggage. He immediately asked if my husband needed help and seemed anxious to help though they have luggage carts and we didn't have much.
The breakfast was very good and I thought had great variety--I was pleased to find fresh blueberries and walnuts .
We had checked online and by telephone onThursday and the property was full but we called again early afternoon Friday and were able to get the suite. There seems to be an unusual amount of booking and canceling in the very busy area.
The building is right on a highway. It did not bother any of us. I didn't notice it at all . If someone was especially sensitive to sound, they might want to ask for a room on the other side of the building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
12
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a great property! The personnel were warm, friendly and very helpful. This hotel has immaculate grounds, rooms, lobby! The breakfast was great, accomodations wonderful. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone. There are also many excellent restaurants very nearby. I enjoyed our eight day stay tremendously. Two thumbs up!
PS And this is coming from a travel agent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff was very attentive and quickly responded to requests. The facility was clean, the pool was a delight. The location was convenient and easy to get to. The breakfast was well above average for this type of hotel, but typical for a Marriott .

Room Tip: try a room on the "odd side". This is away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are just completing a two-week stay with our dog before departing for an overseas position. The staff here has been incredibly friendly. They go well above the call of duty to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast is very limited but the rooms are large and clean. There are lots of restaraunts nearby. The gym is a bit small. But if you have to stay here for an extended period of time the staff makes you feel like family and that is key to a comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I am a Marriott Rewards Member and wanted to stay at the Residence Inn last night. It was about 8:00 PM and raining. I drove around a few times before I figured out where the registration area was. Unfortunately it was back from the parking lot and there were no spaces nearby for me to run in and see if there were any available rooms so I went someplace else for the night. It would have been helpful if a few places were set aside for guests checking in and if Registration was clearly lit. I know Residence Inns are a different concept but this one didn't give a welcoming appearance for a solo traveler

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Residence Inn in Ellicott City/Columbia Maryland is a little-know treasure. It is modern, tastefully furnished and beautifully maintained. It is an excellent choice for families with children as it has a swimming pool and breakfast that includes waffles. This hotel is uber clean, staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it is located in a residential area. The weekend fellow at the desk (I did not get his name) was so accomodating and extremely hospitable.

This property is very quiet and safe. You will be very comfortable and as always, one is never disappointed staying at a Marriott property.

Room Tip: Despite having a room fronting the pool, it was quiet. All rooms are quiet though. The 3rd floor m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place to stay for a family of 4 with grown children. Clean and comfortable. Very reasonable rates! Everything you need. We had a 2-bedroom suite so kids had their own beds. (pull-out sofa bed was not super comfy but ok for 2 nights for our 6 ft son.) Full size fridge, dishwasher, & stove-top made it easy for us to eat healthy as our kids have dietary issues. Also, the continental free breakfast was very good with lots of healthy choices. Close to all major highways. Stores like Target close by in case you forget something...like a belt for your son's dress pants! Staff was pretty good. Didn't really need them for anything, so not much interaction with them. The only negative is that this place allows pets. So if you have allergies to pet dander, you will feel it. You may also hear dogs barking sometimes.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor facing pool or parking lot. Otherwise you'll hear highway traffic and/o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia

Address: 4950 Beaver Run Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbia Maryland hotel is located 12 miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and only thirty minutes to downtown Baltimore. This suburban Baltimore Maryland hotel allows easy access to Baltimore city's many attractions, including the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Orioles baseball at Camden Yards, Baltimore Ravens football and the National Aquarium. Designed for a stay of more than just a few nights, Residence Inn Columbia hotel guests can stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel Ellicott City
Residence Inn Ellicott City
Ellicott City Residence Inn
Columbia Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.