We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Year Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was one of the best New Year ' s party I ever attended. We had a lot of fun, music, food, service, A+++. Victoria did a great job. Thank you for the great way we started 2014.
I wish everybody a happy and healthy New Year!
If you are in the area you MUST try this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    28
    20
    22
See reviews for
34
35
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have spent the last five Christmas Eves and Christmas nights at Turf Valley and never had a bad experience. I thought it was finally time to give them a Trip Advisor review. We have stayed in the Queen bed rooms, the Queen suite and this year got an upgrade to the King Suite. Each experience has been wonderful. The staff can't do enough for you. The hotel is far from full and they do have limited amenities but this is to be expected during the holiday. The pool, exercise room and locker rooms are open. The dining room staff is delightful, our waiter Dennis was especially friendly and Faith at the front desk couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the golf course, fountain view can't be beat at sunrise Christmas morning, especially if it's snowing. Book a visit you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Check out their website. Golf course view is the best.
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask you to use a card if you do not need new sheets and if you want to reuse towels hang the on the towel holders.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Its a tradition that we entertain our family at Turf Valley for Thanksgiving. We call the restaurant and book a large table. We call the hotel (usually Spence) and book some rooms.

Always a smooth process.

The brunch is great every year. Food and service. A large crowd of guest is well managed. The rooms are always cleaned and a great value. The front desk is always friendly and efficient to our request.

My concern every year is that the spa is closed on Thanksgiving. The ladies in our family are always prepared to be pampered and get turned down. Not sure why every holiday the spa is closed?

My concern this year was the breakfast on Friday morning. There was an obvious withdrawal of the troops that were successfully deployed for the brunch event. If I recall correctly only one server was on-duty. I witnessed a soccer team leave the dining room due to the slow service and timeliness of food. The outcome was not good. Food was tasteless and the server was clearly under pressure. As mentioned this only occurred this year.

Our loyalty will always remain. We keep our tradition not limited to Thanksgiving. We stopped by the bar this past weekend to support the property during Small Business Saturday. Our plans are to attend a Santa Brunch as usual - for the grand children.

Turf Valley is the pride of our community.

BR

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfeesboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This facility is very well maintained and is up to date. The grounds are immaculate and the golf course was equally impressive from the hotel. This is a large facility with the ability to accommodate large meetings. The room was clean and well maintained. The only change I would have hoped for was the heating and cooling system was loud.

The meeting space was large but very nice. Overall this facility was a good value for the nightly price and for the golfer would probably be a valued retreat.

The restaurant did not open for breakfast until 7 so for those with early schedules this could be an issue. The food was excellent but slightly on the high side.

Green Features: This facility is actively involved in going green.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was my second time at this location for an annual conference. The whole facility is clean with helpful staff. My room was in newer wing I think, seemed more modern and newer than the room in the older section when I stayed here 2 years ago. The only comment I have about the rooms is that the door and toilet almost touched when closing the door because the bathrooms are on the smaller side of hotel bathrooms. The counters seemed unusually far away from the mirror, so a magnifying or extendable mirror would be a nice addition. My room was on the 5th floor and was quiet despite being near the ice machine. A slight disappointment was the fact that the spa doesn't do hair or nails (really could have used a relaxing manicure!). The meals we had for the conference were good for banquet food; the chicken at dinner WASN'T dry like other places I've been to and the breakfasts and lunch were good also. Its a long drive but I would come back. Overall this is a nice hotel with friendly staff and a variety of conference rooms.

Room Tip: higher floor and on the newer wing are nicer and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was here for a conference. The rooms are old and outdated. The lighting in the rooms is very very dim. This is including the bathroom. However, the bed was very comfortable. There are no bellmen to help with luggage but the front desk staff will help you if you ask. Staff here is very nice.
My main complaint was the conference food. The food was just not good. Tasteless steaks, mashed potatoes that were actually hard. The entire lump could be picked up at one time with a fork. Crumbly powdered eggs, cold turkey sausage, overdone fish. I was glad to get home and cook something decent. Couldn't face breakfast on the last day. Went to the diner down the street to have a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had our Fund Raising event at this hotel. I would suggest you choose a different hotel. The food was terrible and they ran out the replacement food was worse then the original food. The rooms were not clean and the ballroom we had our event in was dirty and smelled.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small and not very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.