We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Event”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had our Fund Raising event at this hotel. I would suggest you choose a different hotel. The food was terrible and they ran out the replacement food was worse then the original food. The rooms were not clean and the ballroom we had our event in was dirty and smelled.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small and not very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    45
    22
    18
    19
See reviews for
30
33
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have watched Turf Valley grow from a country club with three golf courses to a respectable conference center with hotel rooms and restaurant.

To my family Turf Valley is a community. We had to say good bye to our community earlier this year after deciding to move down south. I have been a member for many, many years. My experience has been playing golf, living on the property, dining, and attending weddings.

No one does it better when it comes to weddings and golf than Turf Valley.

PGA Spinnato leads a crew of true gentlemen who made us feel like members of a world class county club.

Mike Powell, hardest working gentlemen at Turf Valley, made us feel welcome with our own oasis at Member's Grill. He hosted us multiple times in his restaurant, Alexandra's, which lately has become the neighborhood gem (best Thanksgiving Brunch in the area)

Serol Gurun, a true class act, has raised the standards of service in the hotel and made us call Turf Valley home during our transition living in the extended-stay apartments. My wife and I got to meet all our neighbors which became friends.

Signore Pete continues to represent what his father, Mr Mangione, has started a long time ago. His relationship with the members - including playing in our outings, will always be remembered.

I am not a tech savvy individual (my regular readings include the AARP magazine and TV Guide). But, I thought this would be a nice way to pay back my respect and gratitude.

Sincerely,

Handicap 9

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had to occasion to stay here last week for a family funeral. I have been to Turf Valley on several occasions for different banquets but have not stayed here before. Wow! what a nice surprise. When I called the reservation desk just the day before and told her why we were coming, she immediately quoted us a bereavement price. When we arrived to check in, Stephanie immediately upgraded both our rooms to a king suite without even asking! Stephanie, you rock and we really did appreciate your kindness and attention during this stressful time. The rooms were gigantic and so well appointed as were the bathrooms. Yes this is an older building but it has been rehabbed and done quite well. It was peaceful and quiet until 6:30 a.m. the next morning when the construction crews started up right outside our window. Of course we understand that there must be construction but at 6:30 a.m.? This was our only complaint. We also had a WONDERFUL dinner at Alexander's which is the in-house restaurant. Crab cakes and steak were outstanding. We would most certainly stay here again. Of course the grounds are just gorgeous because it is a golf resort mainly. Oh and I forgot, my sister & I made use of the indoor pool & spa which too was just wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Turf City Resort is an excellent location for a business conference. It has 36 holes of golf, a spa, exercise facilities and a great location near Washington, DC. The food is the best banquet and conference food ever. Only downside is the well-used interior furnishings. Worth a look for a conference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed from Fri to Mon at the Resort for the wedding of our son. Our room was as big as some apartments I've seen. There was a mini-kitchen, a sitting area, a huge bathroom with the toilet in a separate room & the mattress & pillows were to die for. The staff are all pleasant & gracious. We ate breakfast once at their restaurant. It was very good except our waiter was a tad slow bringing cream for my coffee & forgetting our toast. The wedding reception was held in the Wedgewood Room. It was lovely. Couldn't ask for better service & the food was great. The crab cakes were made of large pieces of crab with very little filler to hold them together. I have no complaints. We were on the 6th floor with lovely views, it was very quiet & the rooms were spotless. I would stay their again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Book an executive room with a king-size bed, mini-kitchen with microwave & refrigerator & a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi, Toni -

Thanks so much for your reviews here and on the page for our restaurant, Alexandra's American Fusion. I'm so glad you enjoyed the wedding and your stay!

We hope to see you again soon - thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed three nights to attend my son's wedding. The hotel is gorgeous. We had a room (as large as some apartments!) with a luxurious king-sized bed with mattress & pillows to die for. We were on the sixth floor & it was very quiet. The rooms are spotless; you could hold a party in the large shower; and the front desk & housekeeping were very gracious. Breakfast was good in the restaurant, but the waiter was a little slow bringing cream, coffee & our toast. The wedding reception was held in the Wedgewood room. Food & staff were fabulous. The crab cakes were pure meat with hardly any filler. What can I add? I would definitely recommend this resort!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a king-sized bed. Rooms are huge with sitting areas, microwave, refrigerator, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It was a comfortable stay in a 2 bedroom suite, which was reasonably priced. It was a little dated, but overall it was a good hotel. I would rate it a 6.5 with 10 being the highest. Excellent golf course views. The hotel is conveniently located off of a major roadway with all types of stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.