We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Resort" it is not.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A "Resort" it is not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For a "resort" this accommodation falls far short of expectations and is just average. When checking in the desk clerk was short and disinterested. The room keys were placed in a photocopied sheet of paper that was folded and stapled with information that was just barely readable. It is odd that we received a coupon for one gratis breakfast as the room was occupied by two people; why not some percentage of the entire bill, to encourage patronage as the restaurant was just about empty during dinner and breakfast while we were there?
As to the room, the sink had rust in it and the bathtub was stained and dirty. The best part of the room, was you did not need a night light. The door has about a 1/2" spacing all around so you have plenty of light from the hallway. However, kudos for the bed as it was comfortable. The lack of consideration for our stay was again found during checkout. We were not even asked how our stay was, and we received our bill on letterhead that was photocopied from an original that was not even aligned with the columns.
Recommendation, there are better valued and higher quality places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi -

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at Turf Valley. I have passed your remarks on to the appropriate team members so we may continue to improve.

Please don't hesitate to contact us at visitus@turfvalley.com if you have any further questions or concerns, or if we can assist you in any way.

Thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    19
    18
    18
See reviews for
27
33
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to many hotels and for the price...this by far the best kept secret in md. The accommodations where excellent. I little elbow grease might be in order, but overall great We opted for the executive suite was greatly surprised We definitely will go again. Near everything and easy to find.

Room Tip: opt for room with king size bed and suite worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel has all the amenities of a very fancy hotel without the stuffiness. It's located in a beautiful country setting with golf, tennis and swimming on the premises. I stay there every time I am in the area. The staff are welcoming and friendly and they always remember me from my previous stays. They have great deals, so check out the specials.

Room Tip: The executive kings are huge. Ask for a room overlooking the pool or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I like the overall facilities of this resort, nice lobby, decent size of gym, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and etc. But the standard double bed room is quite small and old. The sink counter is very small as well with a nice coffee machine right next to the sink. Can hear clearly the noises from the hall way and even worst, I can hear somebody peeing in the next door. Couldn't
sleep well at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As I write this, there is a great party going on in the hall outside of our room. I opened the door to ask the guests to keep the noise level down, but the pizza party was in full swing. I called the front desk, and they apparently have no control over this. My elderly mother (93 years old) in a room several halls over from us, could not sleep last night. We stayed here for my niece's wedding--not a good idea. Try a smaller hotel with more control over their guests. Further, housekeeping was below average. Dirty glasses were not replaces, even in our upgraded suite.

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep, explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked for 4 nights and the rates were great. Our standard room was a good size. They also have super huge luxury suites as well. The front desk was nice and helpful. There is no free breakfast but they do have a restaurant. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. As the name suggest they cater to golfers. Since we are a fly fishing company we opted out of a round of golf. They also have very nice huge olympic size pools. This location was great for us when we went to the Baltimore Orioles games. They swept the Yankees by the way:-) We were not gouged with the ridiculous extra hotel charges. If we'd booked a hotel in Baltimore City, we would have to pay for the wi-fi, parking and who knows what else. At Turf Valley the parking and wi-fi is free! We would highly recommend this hotel! Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Turf Valley is a really great location near Baltimore and Columbia MD with a golf course and tennis courts and indoor and outdoor pools. The restaurant in the hotel has excellent food, I was very taken by their Corn Chowder Soup and their breakfast offerings were both southern and healthy. The staff was very friendly and courteous and the place is very much utilized locally with very nice and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Great family place or couples and also great meeting rooms for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.