We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“Surprised elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to many hotels and for the price...this by far the best kept secret in md. The accommodations where excellent. I little elbow grease might be in order, but overall great We opted for the executive suite was greatly surprised We definitely will go again. Near everything and easy to find.

Room Tip: opt for room with king size bed and suite worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    16
    16
    18
See reviews for
25
31
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel has all the amenities of a very fancy hotel without the stuffiness. It's located in a beautiful country setting with golf, tennis and swimming on the premises. I stay there every time I am in the area. The staff are welcoming and friendly and they always remember me from my previous stays. They have great deals, so check out the specials.

Room Tip: The executive kings are huge. Ask for a room overlooking the pool or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I like the overall facilities of this resort, nice lobby, decent size of gym, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and etc. But the standard double bed room is quite small and old. The sink counter is very small as well with a nice coffee machine right next to the sink. Can hear clearly the noises from the hall way and even worst, I can hear somebody peeing in the next door. Couldn't
sleep well at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As I write this, there is a great party going on in the hall outside of our room. I opened the door to ask the guests to keep the noise level down, but the pizza party was in full swing. I called the front desk, and they apparently have no control over this. My elderly mother (93 years old) in a room several halls over from us, could not sleep last night. We stayed here for my niece's wedding--not a good idea. Try a smaller hotel with more control over their guests. Further, housekeeping was below average. Dirty glasses were not replaces, even in our upgraded suite.

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep, explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked for 4 nights and the rates were great. Our standard room was a good size. They also have super huge luxury suites as well. The front desk was nice and helpful. There is no free breakfast but they do have a restaurant. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. As the name suggest they cater to golfers. Since we are a fly fishing company we opted out of a round of golf. They also have very nice huge olympic size pools. This location was great for us when we went to the Baltimore Orioles games. They swept the Yankees by the way:-) We were not gouged with the ridiculous extra hotel charges. If we'd booked a hotel in Baltimore City, we would have to pay for the wi-fi, parking and who knows what else. At Turf Valley the parking and wi-fi is free! We would highly recommend this hotel! Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Turf Valley is a really great location near Baltimore and Columbia MD with a golf course and tennis courts and indoor and outdoor pools. The restaurant in the hotel has excellent food, I was very taken by their Corn Chowder Soup and their breakfast offerings were both southern and healthy. The staff was very friendly and courteous and the place is very much utilized locally with very nice and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Great family place or couples and also great meeting rooms for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

As my title clearly states PROGRESS = WORKS. My company has used Turf Valley the past two years for their meetings and conferences. During my quarterly stays I have observed this property improving itself. Their latest upgrades to the conference rooms has proved that Turf Valley is not only Maryland's best wedding venue, but also a real CONFERENCE CENTER.

The rooms look great and are always clean. The most attentive and hard working housekeeping ladies. The restaurant renovation was like the birth of a new child - WOW! what an amazing new dining facility - great menu and best outdoor seating. Best praise for the last... this hotel's front desk staff has no competition. They recognize me each time, treat me like family and always make sure our group is happy. Always great to see the same happy faces (for the past two years) checking you in.

I know progress is still in the works and they sure need to keep it up - some parts of the lobby, elevators, carpeting in some of the hallways, some of the restrooms - but they sure have proved that their progress works.

Turf Valley should be any meeting planner's first choice. Its only 25 minutes from BWI, has an amazing golf course (very helpful PGA staff), a spa, and an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: all rooms are renovated. premium rooms have the fridge and microwave. for longer stays a golf view m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City
Turf Valley Hotel
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.