We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a conference, 36 holes of golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place for a conference, 36 holes of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I like Turf Valley more and more. The service is consistently good. The rooms have been upgraded and they are very nice. I seriously recommend upgrading to an Executive King room. Previously, I always took the standard room. The upgrade was only $30 more and it was worth it. For that, I had a double size room, more like a suite, with two full size sliding glass patio doors, overlooking the golf course. Room included a refrigerator, microwave, nice furniture, pivoting wall mount flat screen and the bed was very comfortable with soft sheets. Huge bathroom with high quality fixtures, everything was clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive King room, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    19
    18
    18
See reviews for
27
33
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We wanted our daughter to have a special celebration for her 15th birthday and booked a couple of rooms so she can have a sleepover with her friends as a celebration. The rooms were nice and the girls enjoyed the hotel indoor swimming pool. Everybody was happy and the sleepover was a success. Unfortunately, we left our camera in one of the rooms, I'm 100% sure because I clearly remember putting it down on the bed so I could take one more picture of the girls with a cellphone. The following day, I was ready to download the pictures and remembered never picking up the camera from the bed. I called the hotel and they informed me that housekeeping didn't find the camera, I told them I was sure I left it there, but they said nothing was in the lost and found. I have to say that I was in shock that in hotel with this reputation something like this happened. I have lost things at Target and have had people do the right thing and turn it in to customer service. That the housekeeping department didn't find my camera and do the right thing, is disappointing to say the least. The cost of the camera is nothing to us. What we really lost were the pictures of a wonderful and fun celebration. What a shame for an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My daughter was married on the grounds. The staff was very helpful and rrsponsive. I had requested an early check-in since i had to get dressed but that was not possible. Although they were full, the night before, some effort should have been made to accomodate us. other folks not involved with the wedding had gooten into rooms. However, the room was quite nice and had temperature controls that actually went below 72 degrees. On a hot day and in a tux, I appreciated that. The food was truly outstanding at both the reception and dinner following. Hats off!

Room Tip: had a breakfast with family and friends who had traveled quite a ways. On a Sunday, the variety of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here as a wedding guest overnight. Our room was clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was near the elevator, but it was very quiet. The reception facilities were very nice. We also went to the bar before the wedding and that was a pleasant surprise. There was a performer who sang some Bob Dylan type low key songs - he was rather talented. The wedding was outside at the gazebo with beautiful trees framing the area which made it feel rather quaint and private despite being on a large golf course. The reception area was very nice and the food was excellent! I would recommend the facilities for a place to stay or a wedding or both. As a guest, I thought it was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at Turf Valley while attending an over night retreat. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of my room. I paid $109.00 for a suite that had a wrap-around balcony, huge bedroom with a desk, internet, chair, flat-screen tv, dresser, door with wall pockets (great source of privacy); a tall mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker with tea, coffee and condiments, microwave, cabinets, sink, an over-sized bathroom, a huge living-room area with a small dinette table w/chairs, large picture window, pull-out sofa, large chair, dresser and flat-screen tv! My room overlooked the beautifully kept golf-course and waterfall that changes colors at night. Wow, now that's a deal. I will definitely be back!

I almost forgot about the remainder of the resort. The grounds are beautifully kept. The outdoor pool was under repair so I did not get to use it. The indoor pool is part of the Spa area. Aww, it was so tranquil and relaxing that I actually fell asleep in the lounge chair. The entire resort is beautiful and the staff are very nice and accommodating. I did not use the lounge or restaurant but both areas were well kept. I think I may plan my birthday party there.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the golf course and water fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just returned from a board meeting held at Turf Valley and was very pleased. The only downside is if you fly in....plan on spending about $60-70 for the taxi trip to the resort (they do have a shuttle for the return). The rooms are spacious...and I mean spacious...lots of windows, minifridge, flat screen TV with lots of channels. Free wi fi ad coffee maker in the room and large bathroom. Beds are comfy too. There is both lounge and restaurant. Excellent beer on tap and nice wine selection (martinis are well prepared too). Angela's has a decent menu and reasonable prices. There is both an indoor and outdoor pool (currently closed) as well as a health club and a spa. I wish I had more time to explore the place but it was raining one of the days I was there but next if we meet here, plan to spend more time and even go on the driving range.Of course the view of the links can't be beat either...bet is is beautiful in the autumn. Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are doing any business on Route 70 and Howard County this is the place to stay.

I am a member of Hilton Honors and Marriott Rewards. Neither chain offers a full service brand in this area. Unfortunately I need to rule out Double Tree in Columbia.

After some research and coming across an amazing rate I started to stay here. It will be about my seventh stay. On my third stay the front desk started to welcome me by name. I have a nice room with a gorgeous view. The hotel offers lots of perks for the business traveler - parking wireless internet indoor pool fitness center business center - (all complimentary)

The best part: I come back from the office and hit the driving range. Now for me thats worth lots of points.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of their courses. Pulling the curtains open to this view will beat any cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.