We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sakura Japanese Steak House
10040 Baltimore National Pike, Ste E160, Ellicott City, MD 21042-3797
410-203-0755
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 139 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We took our toddler to Sakura for the excitement of hibachi. He loved the smoke and fire show. The food was average for a hibachi restaurant- seasoned and cooked well, but nothing extraordinary. The restaurant decor is dated and the restaurant smells strongly of smoke from the grills.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Love the sushi - very fresh and prepared in front of you if you sit at the bar. They make a bamboo roll that is delicious! We often come for lunch and even our 10 year old son enjoys the food here. Large U shaped tables are great fun for dinner or celebrations with the chef's preparing everything in front of you! Very clean and food is consistently fabulous!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Average evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been here several times.. This time was probably our least favorite..

We wanted to be seated in front of the grill, and were told that they weren't able to do that..

5 minutes later, they seat another family of 4 in the spot they told us wasn't available... It seems they are going away from being friendly..

The waiter messed up our order and another order at the table..

The chef was good.. interacted with us..

The food was good, just the overall experience was lacking from the other times we have been her.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xcountry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Service is fast and friendly, atmosphere pleasurable, food is excellent.
The cook/server is friendly, fun, and knows what he's doing.
I enjoy the experience and will most likely come back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You'll leave with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sakura is a typical Japanese restaurant that features seating for ten people around huge grill tops where your personal chef prepares your meals at the grill. There is a good variety of steaks, seafood, chicken and vegetables for entres and meals are served with an appetizer, soup and salad. We attended with a party of 6 for a birthday celebration and were joined with a party of four who were also celebrating a birthday with a young boy. The food was quite good and the Japanese chef was really entertaining with his banter and skill with the cooking implements. We were there on a Saturday evening and the place was packed so we did feel a bit rushed but all in all everyone had a great time. I've had better food in more expensive restaurants but the chef made this visit a very enjoyable experience. Note that the restaurant is located in the far corner of the Enchanted Forest Shopping Center and is hard to see from the highway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.