We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Bistro on Main

Johnny's Bistro on Main
8167 Main Street, Ellicott City, MD 21043
410 461 8210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was pleasantly pleased with the food here. Set up is different but works. Prices are fair and competitive. Clean place with friendly and attentive service. I plan to return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    3
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unusual Set Up But Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This restaurant located right on Main Street had servers who seated you and told you the specials, however you have to go to a counter to order, pay, and get your drinks. Then the servers bring out your food. We thought this was weird but it was worth it. The place was hopping and we arrived at 2:00...not a typical lunch hour. We had the special appetizer, olive hummus, and the special pizza, wild mushroom. We loved our meal. The pita bread and the pizza dough were definitely homemade. This was fantastic. We only rate it very good not excellent because of the weird service set up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fresh food, friendly staff good prices.Nice variety of item with the chef comming out to eat table to see if you liked the meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy bistro w/excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were at Johnny's and I had "The Bistro" sandwich with sliced flank steak on a cibatta? bread. It was excellent so we came back the next day for the same and pumpkin soup. Same great sandwich and the soup was great. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I love dining at Johnny's and get there at least monthly! The specials are always amazing, and his wine selections are an excellent value for the price. The owner, Johnny, tries to get out to chat with everyone personally, despite being busy creating masterful dishes in the kitchen. It's a European-style bistro where you order at the counter (they deliver the food) but when they aren't really busy they'll take your fodd and drink orders as well. Very friendly wait staff-- go with their recommendations and you won't go wrong. Johnny's Sangria's are awesome in the summertime but he typically runs out by early evening due to their popularity (and the prep time required to make them).
Don't miss Johnny's if you are in Ellicott City!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Bistro on Main also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Bistro on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Bistro on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.