We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Grill & Cantina

La Palapa Grill & Cantina
8307 Main St, Ellicott City, MD 21043-4768
410-465-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 138 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Starke, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly staff and very aware! My meal was served quickly and was tasty.
This is a good Mexican restaurant if you find yourself in Ellicott City.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPalapaGrill, General Manager at La Palapa Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. By the looks of the picture you had the "Enchiladas Verde". Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been here to dine about five times. I have been meaning to rate our last experience for months but have just been too upset to do so. Here is what I would like to say about the staff and management we have encountered at La Palapa Grill & Cantina. They just so not know what good service is. The main manager I can't even remember his name right now needs to take classes in being a team leader. He speaks so poorly to his staff and customers that it is not surprising that everyone seems to be in a foul mood.

Our last experience was so horrific that all 10 people in our party voted to leave after ordering drinks.

For the record I should mention that there is one time that we did dine here and had great service.

There is a HUGE management issue going on here and the owners need to address it.
Will NEVER return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mexican Steak and Cheese!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been eating at La Palapa's since 2004 and it just keeps getting better so I figured lets give them a review! Had lunch the other day with my wife and ordered the Mexican Steak and Cheese outta nowhere and it's da bomb baby. Must try it... A ton of fajita steak like a pound and sautéed onions and peepers served inside a warm grilled tortilla served with the best potato wedge fries in EC it's huge be ready!!! Simply mouthwatering goodness all for $8.95

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPalapaGrill, General Manager at La Palapa Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the nice review. Next time you stop by please ask for the general manager I would like to thank you in person. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ruined Holiday Party”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a terrible experience at La Palapa restaurant friday night in Ellicott City. Manager promised us a section for our holiday party and then they backed out saying that "sorry you misunderstood us." We made a quick change and ended up at Eggspectations also in Ellicott City. They were great at Eggspectations and even gave us a private room due to a last minute cancellation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Salsa Night on Thursday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't attest to the food here yet- I'm sure I will soon and I will be impressed by that as well. Good drinks, great dancing- some of the best Salsa in the area I would think. The play Salsa, Meringue, Bachata and Regitone. Great place to meet new friends and get your dance on!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Palapa Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.